Sigmoidoscopy, Take 2


Okay, tomorrow morning is go time. I drank my “sparkling laxative” yesterday, refrained from food today, and tomorrow morning at 7:30 am my surgeon will “take a peek” at the interiors of my colon.

I hope he finds it very boring and unremarkable. Just another colon.

I’m not as anxious this time as I was a couple weeks ago before everything got cancelled. Maybe I’m too hungry to be anxious. Maybe I’ve had more time to prepare myself. Maybe I’m just leaning on God and leaving it in His hands.

I get these every four months, you’d think I’d be used to it by now. The prep, the waiting, the early morning appointment, “Lie on your side,” watching the caverns of my colon on the TV monitor in the room.

But no matter how often I drink that prep I’ll never get used to it. By the time I’m done I’ve got the shivers and my tongue is suffering from temporary paralysis. And no matter how often I “lie on my side” and get probed it’s still one of the most unnatural things I will ever experience. And I’ll never get comfortable with watching that little camera explore my guts.

Well, as I write this it’s only 14 hours away. I just hope–and pray, pray, pray–there’s no surprises.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on April 26, 2010, in Cancer, Life in General and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I’m praying for your peace of mind and positive (or is that negative?) results!

    Like

  2. Mike, I’ll be praying for God to give you peace and for there to be good results. Hang in there! He’s gotten you through many tough times and He’ll continue to carry you through. Take Care! Becky

    Like

  3. Will definitely pray for you. All the best…

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

