Helping to Spread the Word


First, let me say how thankful I am for my readers. Without you this whole writing thing would be an act of futility. Yes, I love writing, but what I love about writing is knowing someone is reading. Without readers, writing would be like talking to yourself and saying some wonderful things that no one will ever hear. Which, by the way, I do all the time. Oh, the things I come up with . . .

Second, I have a lot of readers who love the suspense/horror genre and want to see it grow in the Christian market and they love my brand of suspense/horror and want to support it. That’s great, really, and I’m humbled and appreciative beyond what I can express on this blog.

So what can you do to help spread the word, increase awareness, and be a part of establishing this genre in the Christian fiction world?

Here’s a few quick and easy ways:

1) If you’ve read Darlington Woods (or any book for that matter) and enjoyed it, post a review on Amazon.com. It’s easier than you think. Go to the DW‘s Amazon page, scroll down to the reviews and click on “Create Your Own Review.” It doesn’t have to be Pulitzer stuff or long-winded, just a few sentences about what you thought of the book.

2) The next time you’re at your local library or drive past it, stop in and ask them to purchase a copy of DW. Most libraries will accommodate their patrons and order what they request. Some libraries have a book suggestion feature on their website too.

3) Tell your friends, your family, your co-workers, your neighbor, the creepy shirtless guy who walks his dog by your house every morning. Tell them all!

4) Purchase the book for gifts. We all have oodles of people we buy birthday gifts for . . . parents, siblings, uncles, aunts, grandparents, nieces and nephews, friends, blah, blah . . . and a book makes a great gift. And Father’s Day is just around the corner! If you want a signed copy for $15 (price includes S&H), go to the contact page and email me privately. Signed copies make even better gifts.

5) Stop by your local bookstore and if DW is not on the shelf tell them they really need to order it, like, really need to, like right now if they know what’s best for them.

6) If you’re involved in a book group why not suggest DW? I know, I know, your group has Karen Kingsbury and Beverly Lewis and Francine Rivers on the docket already and most of them are scaredy cats. Hey, break out of the mold, do something exciting, and read something different for a change. Boy, think about the discussions you could have! And if you want, I can make myself available to do a conference call with your group so all those ladies can ask me why I’m so weird and why I have this stuff in my head. We’ll have a blast.

So there’s a few ways you can help. And hey, if you do any of these, please let me know. I’m always interested to hear how readers are getting involved.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on May 25, 2010, in Darlington Woods, Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Mike,
    Earlier this year I got my local library in Saline County, Arkansas to stock all three of your books.

    Like

  2. I will call my library today and request they order all of your stories, Mike! They would be perfect for the summer reading programs! And hey…they always order what I suggest!! 🙂

    Like

  3. Darlington Woods is going to be the next book that I buy! 🙂 Then I will post a review to help spread the word.

    Like

  4. Thanks, Sara. Excellent! I appreciate any help I can get on spreading the word.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

