Celebrating Some Milestones


Milestones come and go in life, some we stop to celebrate, some we rush right by. Today, I reach two milestones, and I’m gonna stop to celebrate them.

One, Jen and I celebrate our 13th anniversary. Yes, it was 13 years ago today that I said those two words that would forever change my life. Do you ever think back and wonder what your life would be like today if you hadn’t made the choices you made all those years ago? What kind of a person would I be today if I’d never made a choice to follow Christ? Where would I be if I’d given up on my writing after the umpteenth rejection? What would I be like if I said “I don’t” instead of “I do”?

Obviously, I don’t know the answer to that last question, but what I do know is that I wouldn’t be where I am today. Jen is such a huge part of who I am and where I am today. She motivates me, encourages me, chastises me (when I need and deserve it), keeps me grounded, keeps me pointed in the right direction, and keeps me happy. For 13 years she’s kept her promise, through better and worse, richer and poorer, sickness and health.

The second thing I’m celebrating today is living to see another birthday. Yes, we got married on my birthday. I turn 38 today and I’m going to finally prove I’m a real pistol, a .38 Special!

We’re going to celebrate my birthday and our anniversary here in Maine by taking a cruise on a lobster boat and stuffing ourselves with seafood afterward. The weather here is sunny and in the low 70s and I wouldn’t want to celebrate this day any other way. The last time we were in Maine was three years ago, a year before we found out I had colon cancer. It’s odd to think that even then that monster was growing in me and I had no idea. But it’s gone now and we can celebrate . . . celebrate life!

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on June 7, 2010, in Cancer, Life in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Happy Anniversary!

    Like

  2. Happy birthday (two more years til 40!)- and happy anniversary!

    Like

  3. Indeed. My dad eloped with my mom on his 21st birthday. They were married many years before she passed away. Happiest of birthdays and anniversaries. Sounds like you’re in exactly the right place to enjoy the Lord’s blessing on both events!

    Like

  4. PRAISE THE LORD indeed!! May you celebrate lavishly!! Congratulations!

    Like

  5. Enjoy! And congratulations and happy birthday! Please give Jen my best.

    Like

  6. There’s nothing better than lobster!

    Like

  7. This is so great to hear, Mike!! Congrats to you and Jen! I hope you guys had a great time, you both deserve it! HAPPY BIRTHDAY AND ANNIVERSARY!!!!!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

