Open Mouth, Insert Foot


Our youngest daughter saw the dentist today and had a tooth pulled. Didn’t hurt a bit but now her tongue can’t stay away from the hole left behind. Apparently, this frustrated her because she said to me in all seriousness, “Dad, can you tell my tongue to stop thinking the tooth is still there?”

Oh, if only it were that easy. I’d have a few things to say. I’d tell it to stop speaking out of turn and to think before it goes to work. I’d tell it to stop using words that bite and sting and hurt. To never again tell a lie or use sarcasm. And for the love of Pete to stop inviting my foot to join it. I’d tell it to only speak words that edify and encourage and inspire.  To use itself to spread joy and love.

Boy, I’d have a few things to say to it if it would only listen.

But unfortunately . . . “the tongue is a fire, a world of evil among the parts of the body. It corrupts the whole person, sets the whole course of life on fire, and is itself set on fire by hell.” (James 3:6)

Controlling the tongue is not as easy as simply telling it what to do (don’t I wish). It needs to be tamed first then trained. And that takes practice, will-power, self-control, patience, and lots of prayer.

Anyone have any suggestions for taming and training the tongue? Something you’ve found that works?

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on August 10, 2010, in Christian Living, parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Marquette Garvick

    “A closed mouth gathers no feet.”

    Like

  2. “It is better to say nothing and be thought a fool, then to open your mouth and remove all doubt!!!”

    Like

  3. Mine also, I wish I could do better at putting it into action 🙂

    Like

  4. Hi Mike,
    I just love what your daughter said. So cute! Oh and that tongue can get us in trouble can’t it? We just had this discussion over at the Inkwell.
    http://inkwellinspirations.blogspot.com/search/label/tongue

    I recommend holding off on a response which can be really hard to do and then sit down and write the person a letter (DON’T MAIL IT!)that you are angry with and try to get it all out on paper. Then think about what you want to say to that person in a calm rational manner. Maybe that can be considered a piece of the training aspect. But once in awhile we say things without thinking it through and we all do it.

    Like

  5. I’ve found if I don’t spend that oh-so-necessary personal time with Jesus in the morning before I start my day, my tongue seems to have a (rotten) mind of its own. If, during my prayer time, I ask the Holy Spirit to take over and I end up praying in the Spirit, my tongue is tamed for a moment in time. And that moment can set the tone for the entire day! (Jude 20)

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

