A Love/Hate Relationship


A ultramarathoner running the 32 Mile Wyoming ...

Image via Wikipedia

So I started running again. Yes, started. I hadn’t run any distance to speak of or with any consistency since last December. Oh, I ran a mile here, a mile there over the summer but that was it. My excuses were plentiful. Too hot, too busy, too tired. Worthless, every one.

Then I started again because I forced myself to register for a 5K on September 25. And now I can’t stop. I’m obsessed.

Weird.

But I’ve noticed something, come to a conclusion. My relationship with running is love/hate. When I’m not running I hate it, don’t like the thought of it, and have no motivation to do it. Believe me, the excuses come easy.

But when I force myself to set aside my loathing and actually get my rear off the sofa and run suddenly I’m in love all over again. Day after day I must run, I’m compelled, even obsessed. When I miss a day I find myself out of sync.

Then I realized how much that is like spending time in God’s Word. Not that I hate reading it, please don’t hear me saying that. But when I’m not reading it regularly it’s easy to stay in that rut, easy to come up with excuses and find other things I’d somehow rather be doing. Then, when I get into a routine, spend regular time with God, suddenly I need it like I need air.

So how about you? What do you have a love/hate relationship with? (And please don’t say your spouse).

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on September 8, 2010, in Christian Living, Life in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’m with you on this one Mike…I started running about a year and a half ago and signed up for my first race this October. It is something that has been so good for me – a new rhythm that has impacted me on all levels. But I love to hate it. And after a run where I pushed myself a little harder yesterday, my body hates it more.

    I have also seen the same parallel you discovered with being in God’s Word. Or even just sitting in His presence. I hate to sit still. Running has only encouraged my ADD. But it has also brought to light the need for healthy rhythms.

    I’d love to chat more but it’s time for my run… πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Same with me, in a way…I work out a lot. Sometimes every day, sometimes every other day. If I’m feeling off I hate working out but I slog through it. When I’m actually not working out I relish the idea. Strange.

    Like

    • Thanks for the comments, Naomi and Jay. It’s funny how our moods and attitudes change regarding exercising and other disciplines in life. It must have something to do with that whole bringing our bodies into submission thing. No one likes to submit, but we know it’s what is best for us.

      Like

  3. I think the running would be a hate/hate relationship for me πŸ™‚

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

