The Dellosso Family Growth Program


Some of you know this already and for the rest of you, well, this may be as much of a surprise as it was for us the first time we heard it . . . Jen’s pregnant. Yes, you read that right. She’s pregnant with our fourth and due March 12, 2011. I’m sorry some of you have to find out this way but it’s simply impossible to tell everybody individually and this technology stuff does come in handy sometimes.

Okay, so our lives will change dramatically. After eight years of not having a baby in the house we have nothing and will be literally starting over. Our life is built for five people. Throw another in the mix and things feel like they’re getting real hairy. We have a lot to do in four and a half months.

And, of course, all this change will bring financial changes. So I’ve been wracking my mind over ways I can bring in more income (besides the obvious of standing on a street corner and peddling my books).

Here’s what I came up with. I’m going to rent myself out. Hey, don’t laugh, it’ll be like “husband-for-hire.” I can clean, do laundry, play with the kids, help with homework, even cook a limited menu (okay, very limited . . . and no red meat).

I know how to iron and fold clothes. Shop for groceries (if you don’t mind a few extra bucks spent on things not on your list). Pack lunches (PB&J, chips, apple). You name it. I can do yard work and housework.

If you just want someone to sit in front of the TV and zone out everything including you, I’m your man. I’m a good listener, though I can’t promise I’ll actually hear anything you say.

If you’ve had a hard day and need a verbal punching bag, I can do that too. And if you’re really in the mood for a fight, I can spar any way you want–sarcastic, passive-aggressive, nagging, or just plain jerkish. The choice is yours.

Now, I shouldn’t have to say this but I’m sure I’ll get either someone actually try to hire me or someone verbally abuse me for doing something so stupid . . . this is all very tongue-in-cheek. But seriously, I’ll need to do something financially, um, like sell more books.

So here’s your chance to contribute to the Dellosso Family Growth Program. If you haven’t read my books, you’ll like them, trust me. Christmas is coming and books make a great, easy gift. Ask your local library to carry my books. Get your kids to ask their school library to carry them. Any way you can help.

Yes, this is shameless and I don’t care. Hey, if you have any other ideas, I’m all ears.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on October 12, 2010, in Life in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. iambelievinggod

    Congratulations!

    Like

  2. Congrats to the Dellosso gang, and I’m in the market for some books for my dad’s birthday! Glad to contribute to the baby fund though I think that rent-a-husband thing is a good idea! 😉

    Like

  3. Congratulations! I’m happy for the both of you!

    Like

  4. Or should I say–all of you!

    Like

  5. Congratulations! The grape vine must be a little broken, I hadn’t heard you all were expecting. And yes I could us a husband for hire 😉 I don’t know how my REAL husband will feel. 😉

    Like

  6. Wow!!! Congrats!!!!!! 😀

    Like

  7. Elizabeth Fisher

    HA-HA!!!! This is too funny!! This is a blessing from God. He knows your needs and will provide. When this one is born you will never be able to remember life without him/her. Love you guys!

    Like

  8. Congratulations Dellosso clan! Coming from someone who was surprised by 2 out of 3 children! When we discovered we were pregnant with each of our girls, we were initially overwhelmed with fears and concerns about how to pay for another mouth, or finagle our debts to make things easier, but thankfully, we soon realized God was in control. He knows our needs and will provide for them. I love imagining the type of person my children will grow up to be. God has plans for them too and will provide for them. It’s a good feeling, though sometimes a little scary. Kind of like a rollercoaster! Imagine, number 4 what will he/she look like? Who will they act like? Exciting to think about! Praying for you guys and miss you!

    Like

  9. Maybe a son this time, Mike? Really: congratulations. Babies keep us seeking the plans of God all the way to their (and our) adulthood (since we don’t seem to come by growing up real easy). He loves to confound our plans with a better one. Hang in there, Daddy.

    Like

  10. Michael, Let me congratulate you and the familia for such wonderful news. It is truly amazing that God bestows on us the gift of life and the privilege to raise such joyful kiddos. Here’s to changing diapers and late nights (and other joy-filled moments as well)! As the sole income provider myself (praise God that He allows us to afford Jessica to stay at home), I can identify with your fears asking about how God will “show me the money”, but He has been faithful and is worth of our trust and praise. I know I only have one kiddo, but I can attest to how good He is with our financial sitch-ee-ation. I hope to talk with you soon. C

    Like

  11. Great news, Mike, great news. Congratulations to your whole family. Disconcerting and scary, yes, But the blessing is coming.

    Like

  12. Congrats mate!!! I cannot believe how similar our two families are. The exact same thing happened with our fourth! (Only the gap in-between is a little less 😉

    Remember God’s got you in the palm of his hand!

    Love the Drake family

    Like

  13. Congratulations! An idea, write another book. I can think of a juicy story out of this. And I’m sure the wee one would like company in the wee hours when he/she doesn’t want to sleep. What great bonding you telling him/her about the book your writing. And it has him/her and the siblings in it. What do you think?

    Like

    • Cindy, I’m working on two new books right now. Working on the edits of one while writing the next. My next book, Darkness Follows, will be out May, 2011 and it’s all about the unconditional love of one little girl for her daddy. Look for it!

      Like

  14. Haha, I bought Scream a couple of weeks ago 😀 That’s funny

    Like

  15. CONGRATULATIONS Dellosso family!! What amazing news! I’m so excited for all of you!

    Like

  16. i was half asleep reading my email and woke up real fast after reading urs! I can’t believe it, but u guys will be just fine. remember everything happens for a reason and this is a great thing!!! u guys remind me of my brother and sister in law. they were surprised for the last 2 of theirs, but were so excited too. i already have all of ur books and mom has all of them with still not reading darlington woods because she’s too scared. lol i will keep u in my prayers and help by spreading the word of ur great books!!!

    Like

  17. March 12 is the best. I’ll remember your new little one when our birthday rolls around.

    Congrats, Mike.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

