Virginia Isn’t for [Book]Lovers


The Virginia welcome sign at the Virginia welc...

Image via Wikipedia

So Saturday I had my “big” book fair in Virginia . . . only it wasn’t big. Funny thing. There were 75 authors present representing every genre and kind of writing, both fiction and non-fiction. The fair was for a good cause, to raise money for literacy and awareness for the link between illiteracy and high crime rates. But the turnout was dismal.

I went expecting to talk to readers, work the crowd, and talk up my books. But it was like fishing in a pond where there were no fish.

Yes, I did meet some new and interesting people, had some good discussion with others (interestingly, my favorite talk was with an elderly author about her arthritic knee and her need for a total knee replacement) but at the end of the day I had driven seven hours, spent eight hours at the fair, only to spend more on gas than I made on books.

This was the second time this year I had such an experience in Virginia. If Virginia is for lovers it sure hasn’t shown me any love yet. I don’t think I’ll be doing any more events in Virginia for a while.

Virginians, defend your state!

Oh, here’s something interesting I saw. On the way down to Waynesboro, VA, along Interstate 81, I saw roadkill I’d never seen before . . . a black bear. Really. Big sucker too.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on October 18, 2010, in Writing Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Shawna Franklin

    Sorry you didn’t have a better turn-out. That’s a shame. Wish I coould have gone. Would have been nice to meet so many different authors in one place. Interesting about the roadkill. In GA I see tons of armadillo. Gross!

    Like

  2. Perhaps the begining of a new book about where all the people went!

    Like

  3. I’ve been to a few of those events. On the fantasy fiction tour in ’08 we had the team of 8 show up for an event that ended up with a similar result. The most fun was everyone discussing what their worst book signing event was. It ended up as a great memory, knowing that everyone has ’em. I’m pretty selective on book signings now, especially these “big” events. A school chapel (awesome), a church that lets you speak from the pulpit prior to meeting (great), and believe it or not, I had one of my best book signings at a CostCo (with 120 books sold out and them ordering more). Eric

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

