Crunch Time


Deadline (UK TV series)

Image via Wikipedia

So here’s the scoop. Darkness Follows is in its final phase of editing on my end. It’s a great story, folks, really, and I can’t wait for it to hit stores in May.

My next book, as yet untitled, is half way completed.

Now, here’s the crunch. My deadline is the first week of January. That’s, let’s see, about six weeks away. And I have to write 40,000 words and leave time for at least one second draft editing. I can’t turn in a first draft. I simply can’t.

I’m pretty obsessive when it comes to deadlines so I’m determined to meet this one. The math is against me. Maybe if I did this writing thing full-time it would be no big deal but I don’t. And it is a big deal.

The more I think about it the more I panic and the more I panic the more my creative river dries up. I know where I want the story to go but it’s the getting from here to there part that has got me in knots.

So, all that to say, the little I blog now will become even less over the next several weeks. I may post something here and there, I may not. I really need to focus on the writing. It’s the writing, dummy.

And if you think about it, please pray for me. I need to focus on this story and make time to work on it without sacrificing the other more important things in my life, like my family. Pray the story will unfold and the words will flow.

See ya around.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on November 18, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Lifting you up to the Father, Mike! May the story come straight from His heart!!

    Like

  2. Definitely keeping you in prayer! Can’t wait to get my grubby little hands on it!

    Like

  3. I wonder sometimes if deadlines (especially multiple deadlines) are God’s way of saying, “What were you thinking???”

    You’re in my prayers.

    Like

  4. Praying for you. Deadlines are good. Panic is not. It is all in His hands anyway. God Bless.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

