Lessons from a Drummer Boy.


Drummer Boy (1857) by Thomas Couture, oil on c...

Image via Wikipedia

It’s Christmas time. (If you haven’t noticed yet you must be a visitor from some distant planet.)And with Christmas comes caroles and songs sung only once a year. One of my favorites is “The Little Drummer Boy,” not just because I like the tune and the “pa rum pum pum pum,” but because I love the rest of the lyrics.

See, the song is about this kid. Everyone around him wants to go see the new baby king, the Messiah. They have their expensive gifts, their gold and silver and fancy perfumes. Gifts for royalty. They say, “Hey, kid, come with us. Go get your gift and meet us there.” Only he doesn’t have a gift to give, he’s poor, poor as dirt in a drought.

But he has one thing, a talent. He can play the drum. Boy, can he play. So after everyone else has laid their costly gifts at the feet of the child, the boy steps forward with his drum hung around his neck and perched on his hip.

I’ll let him tell the rest.

“Mary nodded. The ox and lamb kept time. I played my drum for him. I played my best for him.”

Did you catch that? I love it. He had one thing to give the newborn king, his one talent. He played his drum for his Lord, he played his best for his Savior. What he could do he did to the best of his ability for Jesus.

Now, here’s the best part, the last line of the song. “Then he smiled at me, me and my drum.”

Jesus was pleased.

I’m sure the boy was good on the drum, but he was no maestro. Still, his effort, done the best he could, put a smile on the face of the King. That gift was more than all the gold in the world.

Quite a challenge, isn’t it? We can learn a lot from a simple drummer boy, from a simple Christmas song. The gifts we have, the talents, skills, opportunities, are gifts we lay at the feet of our Savior. We bless Him by doing our best, giving it our all, and directing the glory back to Him.

So what’s your gift? What can you give? Think about it.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on December 6, 2010, in Christian Living, Life in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Well said, Mike. Thanks for “playing YOUR drum” for us so eloquently with your words. May we all do our best for our Savior so we can merit his sweet smile.

    Like

  2. Elizabeth Fisher

    Wow! Great story, Mike. I will never hear that song again without it having a more special meaning. I love the snow falling, too!!!!

    Like

  3. Thanks for this precious reminder Mike!

    Still praying that your deadline is met successfully and that we’ll all soon be enjoying our next novel from your pen!

    Like

  4. I’ve always loved the lyrics to this song and usually they elicit tears.

    I have so little to give–writing seems so small. But nothing compares to making the Lord smile, to offer Him what little I have . . .

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

