Leaving It All On The Track


The field and track

Image via Wikipedia

I see patients every day who have had terrible things happen to them. Auto accidents that left them with multiple fractures in both legs and unable to walk for months; work accidents that nearly shatter legs and destroy any hope of walking “normally” again; strokes; heart attacks; amputations; cancer; Parkinson’s that robs muscles of control and the brain of cogent thoughts. And you know what? Not one of them planned for it to happen. Not one scheduled their accident or episode or onset of disease.

Tragedy isn’t something you plan for. Heartache isn’t scheduled on anyone’s calendar.

This gets me thinking from time to time and I have to step back and take inventory of my life, of what’s important, of what I fight and live for. Things can change in an instant. One misjudgment, on lapse in attention, one rogue cell, one determined virus. And everything changes.

It happens, really. I see it every day and deal with the consequences, both physically and emotionally.

I’m currently working on a feature article about author Rick Acker for the April edition of Afictionado and in it you’ll read how the diagnosis of cancer in Rick’s brother served as a wake-up call for him. He says his brother did nothing different after learning he had terminal colon cancer. He was living in God’s will and didn’t need to change anything about his life. He lived with no regrets.

There’s a Matthew West song I love called “The Motions.” Here’s a few lines from the chorus:

I don’t want to spend my whole life asking

What if I had given everything

Instead of going through the motions?

Powerful question. Like Rick Acker’s brother I want to live with no regrets. I don’t want to come to the end of my life, or have my life radically altered by some accident or recurrence of my cancer and be left wondering, What if I had given everything?

When I was on the track & field team in high school I ran the 400 meter dash. At the end of the race I was spent, exhausted, and ready to vomit. I had run my best and left everything on the track. I want to do the same with this race of life, leave it all on the track.

Am I strange or do you think about this stuff too?

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on February 18, 2011, in Christian Living, Life in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I tend to get caught up in day-to-day activities, putting too much emphasis on them. Or maybe not putting enough emphasis on them. I find myself waiting until I have more time – when I should be making every minute an opportunity to leave something on the track.

    Like

  2. Wow! Those are some really great thoughts. I think I may use that quote as my new motto!!!

    Like

  3. I don’t think you’re any stranger than the rest of us that have experienced tragedies, Mike. But as writers I do think we take it a step further and dwell on it knowing how important and fragile life is.Or maybe not. I guess I do. I work in a hospital setting and counsel nursing students. We’ve had a number of tragedies recently. I lost my brother soon after he turned 27 in 1983 and my oldest daughter suffers from very complicated mental health problems including OCD that tortures her constantly. I think it’s important to run that 400 meter dash daily to the best of our ability, but I really don’t want to vomit if I can avoid it.:) Great thought provoking post.

    Like

    • I agree, Jill, the vomiting part is most undesirable. Tragedy, while unpleasant, does serve some positive purpose in our life. It tends to sharpen our vision, narrow our focus, and clarify life as it really matters. Great comments.

      Like

  4. I think these thoughts a lot. I have adopted and bio children and my adopted struggle mightily with attachment issues. This Matthew West song is something that describes my son perfectly. I pray every day that he won’t just go through the motions, that it will reach his heart. Thanks for the thoughts.

    Like

  5. No, Mike, you are anything but weird; you are an inspiration. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  6. Mike, I chose your blog for the “I Love this Blog Award”. Check out Redwood’s Medical Edge tomorrow (Saturday 2/26).

    Like

  7. When I spend my life going through motions, I end up panicking at night and wondering what the value of anything is. And then I refocus my attentions and pray and ask God to direct my life, what he wants me to do. And sometimes I panic again because his answer isn’t immediately clear. So, no, not strange to me.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

