Celebrating Three Years with a Giveaway!!


Three years ago today the receptionist at work pulled me aside and said there was a doctor on the phone for me. The phone call had come, the biopsy reports were in.

“Michael, I’m very sorry but you have colon cancer.”

I don’t remember much more of the conversation, just him saying he thinks surgery and chemo will take care of it, he arranged an appointment with the surgeon, so sorry again.

Every year that day seems farther and farther away but the memories of the journey are still so vivid. If I think about it I can still feel the chemo going into my system, I can hear the sound of my ileostomy gurgling, feel the stoma under my fingers. The images and sounds of my hospital stays come alive again if I only think of them.

I try not to think about it too much but it’s good to every now then. It’s good to remember the valley God carried me through, to reflect on his goodness and mercy that followed me every step of the way.

And as much as I may try to not think about it I still do every day, multiple times a day. It’s a part of me now, part of who I am.

I’m a battler, a combatant, a survivor.

So to celebrate this anniversary–three years–I’m giving away three copies of my book Darlington Woods. Just leave a comment here or on my Facebook page to be entered into the drawing for a chance to win one of those copies.

NOTE: I’m extending the deadline to Sunday, March 20, midnight. Winners will be announced on Monday! Stay tuned . . .

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on March 17, 2011, in Giveaways. Bookmark the permalink. 45 Comments.

  1. Brianne Shipley

    Congrats on 3 yrs, Mike! I appreciate reading your posts and your wonderful testimony of faith. May God continue to bless you and your family!!

    Like

  2. Mike, Thanks for sharing your story. I’m sure you have touched many lives by sharing how God helped you throught this difficult time. We serve an awesome God. I’m glad you decided to keep you on Earth to spend more time with your wonderful family and to help spread his love to others. Congratulations.

    Like

    • Susan, my prayer is that through this trial others will be blessed, that God’s faithfulness will be evident and He will be praised. That’s why I tell my story 🙂

      Like

  3. Naturally, I would like to get in on the free books. 🙂

    Like

  4. You are a blessed man, a warrior who God raised up for the battle. So grateful you’re celebrating three years of freedom. More abundance to come in the Name of Jesus, Amen, Mike.

    Like

  5. Your discription of yourcancer journey astound me> I find them to be so true.

    Like

  6. Praise God for His faithfulness! I love Dekker and I need to start my Dellosso reading. If I’m not a winner that’s fine. I’ll start reading your books asap anyway. Continued blessings to you. Oh, please pass along a hello to Katie for me, if you can.

    Like

  7. God is such an awesome God! So thankful God has healed you! I love your novels- they’ve been an insporation to me!

    Like

  8. Hi Mike,
    I value your friendship and your willingness to share your journey. I’m currently reading Max Lucado’s book, Facing Your Giants, again.:) You and God sure showed that giant of yours whose boss and took him down on the battlefield. Don’t ever quit sharing this story, Mike, lots of people will find value in it for their own lives. Thanking God for your life and the joy you bring to others. How’s the new baby and family doing?
    Jill

    Like

    • Jill, the family and new baby are doing great. We’re getting sleep in spurts with many interruptions but on this our fourth time around we’re taking it in stride :)Thanks for your friendship!

      Like

  9. Good going to stay with us this long!

    Like

  10. when i read your testimony for the first time in scream i was thrilled to find someone real in the christian author catergory . . . thanx for all you do , keep lighting up the darkness

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

