Moving on to Other Things


Over the past month I’ve been chronicling my journey through colon cancer and have found it both therapeutic and exhausting. Reliving the ordeal has affected me in a variety of ways. For one, it’s brought back the fears, the anxieties, the uncertainties, but in other ways it’s reminded me of God’s faithfulness, of all He’s brought us through.

Anway, all that to say . . . I need to take a break from it. Last Thursday I saw the oncologist for my six-month check-up and he said everything looks beautiful. After three years of clean tests and healthy reports, he feels comfortable saying I’m out of the woods. Words I needed to hear.

So I’ll move on to talking about other things, like the many blessings God has showered upon us these last three years. Blessings I never saw coming, blessings more than we ever thought or desired.

Someday I’ll get back to chronicling my journey, I know I will because I’d love to compile all my reflections into a book, even if it’s just for family and any friends who may be interested. Even if it’s just for my kids. May it serve as one of those memorial stones the Hebrews used to mark to remind them always, generation after generation, of God’s faithfulness and blessings.

Thank you all for trekking along with me as I relived the journey, for all your kind remarks and words of encouragement. You blessed me then and you bless me still.

I’m excited about my next book, Darkness Follows, releasing in less than a month (May 3). I finally caved and wrote a love story . . . but it’s a love story unlike any you’ve read before. And to welcome that book in there will be lots of new and exciting things happening so stay tuned here and to my Facebook stuff. I’ll also have a new Facebook fanpage up and running in the next few days so stay tuned for that and lots of great giveaways and events.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on April 4, 2011, in Cancer, Christian Fiction, Christian Living, Life in General, Writing Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I think it’s a great idea to chronicle your journey, like you said, to show God’s faithfulness for generations to come! WOW!!! Thank you for using your trials and blessings to be a blessing to others.

    Like

  2. I have enjoyed reading your chronicles very much, and would enjoy your further recounts — however and whenever you may decide to share.

    In 2007 (I was 40), I went through the exact same thing you BEGAN describing in your early posts; I felt like I was reading my own diary. Thank God, my diagnosis turned out to be much less evasive, and far less scary, than cancer. However, I could not help but think, and told my wife, as I was reading your posts, “This could have been me!” I could not help but ask how I/we would have handled that situation.

    Thank you for being so honest and transparent in your posts; I know that had to be hard to relive. It shows, even through our humanity, God’s hand manages to guide us through. And through these circumstances, He gives us a higher purpose than we could even imagine.

    God bless you as you continue on in His purpose!

    Like

    • Thanks for sharing this, Kevin. I’m so glad your diagnosis turned out to be less than cancer. And how would you handle it? With God’s grace. His grace is sufficient. Thanks for your encouragement.

      Like

  3. Mike –
    Can’t WAIT for the new book!! And I’d be encouraged to read your journey in book form! I think a lot of people would be! I’ll be praying for you! I’ll try to stay up on the new additions to your fan connections!

    Everything is SO EXCITING!!

    Kim

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

