It’s the People, Stupid


Physical therapy education in the 1980's

Image via Wikipedia

For those of you who don’t know, my real job is in home care physical therapy.  Every day I’m invited into people’s homes to address their physical maladies . . . and emotional and psychological. I talk to them, get to know them, laugh with them, and sometimes cry with them. It can be very fulfilling and very taxing as well.

I posted this on Facebook but since some of you don’t frequent “the book” all that much it’s worth mentioning again. I visited a man the other day, Italian guy from NYC, real Godfather type. When our session was over he shook my hand with both of his and said in his best godfatherly voice, “Michael, you’re good people. You’re welcome here anytime.”

I was honored. For him, giving me free access to his home, an open welcome, was obviously a big deal. It meant he trusted me and enjoyed my company.

Why? Because I saw him as not just a patient with a problem, but as a person, a living, breathing, flesh and blood person with feelings and desires and a life to get back to. And that meant a lot to him.

There’s a lesson to be learned here: as my dad taught me by both modeling and instructing, “People come first. Always.”

They come before protocols and regulations, before policies and procedures, before schedules and productivity requirements. People are at the center of God’s heart and should be at the center of ours.

I try to keep this in mind not only when doing my full-time job, but while doing my part-time job as well. I write for you, the reader. You’re always on my mind while I’m creating a story, how you’ll like this scene or what you’ll get out of that scene. How you’ll relate to the characers. I want my stories to bless and inspire you, to encourage and yes, even challenge you. My greatest desire is that you’ll walk away from my books changed. It may be a small change, barely noticeable to the outside world, or it may be a change that’s colossal, revolutionary. But either way, you’ve been affected and I’ve done my job.

As you go about your day, work your job, interact with your family, serve at your church, remember that important lesson: People come first.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on April 8, 2011, in Christian Living, Life in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Well said, Michael. And an important lesson for writers since many times we get caught up in the numbers and reviews!

    Like

    • Totally agree, Gina. I think it’s important to keep an eye on numbers because, unfortunately, they are a factor in determining whether another contract is on the way or not, but they should never, ever, overshadow the people part of why we write. I don’t write for numbers or good reviews, I write for people.

      Like

  2. Great insights, Michael. Jesus was all about relationships. The true measure of success is not how many books we sell, but whether we have impacted a life. But, selling books sure is nice. By the way, how are your books selling in Wal-Mart? That is a great vehicle to reach new readers who might not find you any other way.

    Like

    • Great comment, Susan. The Walmart sales: it’s funny, from what I’ve heard from readers and my publisher, in some regions and in some stores sales are really good and in others not so good. I’m hoping they pick up, though.

      Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

