What it’s Like to Stutter


Actor Colin Firth - 66th Venice International ...

Image via Wikipedia

A few months ago I made a commitment that I wanted to do more to increase the awareness of and education about stuttering. The popular movie, “The King’s Speech,” has done much to bring stuttering out of the shadows and create more awareness and understanding of the affliction.

As a stutterer I’d like to share what it’s like to stutter, to want to say what’s on your mind but your tongue and mouth just don’t cooperate.

Stuttering can be summed up in two words: tension and anxiety. If you saw “The King’s Speech” Colin Firth did a fantastic job of capturing the tension behind stuttering. Tension in the lips, mouth, tongue, and throat. Everything just locks up as the word gets “stuck” and won’t free itself. Relaxing helps but often only momentarily for as soon as you try to say the word or sound again the tension is right there, hitting the brakes.

The anxiety comes from the anticipation of the tension and the blockage. I remember sitting in school (I’m talking high school and college) and awaiting my turn to do some kind of public speaking and literally sweating bullets. My heart raced, breathing quickened, hands began to shake. Writing about it now brings back all those familiar feelings and even now I can feel the tension building in me. It’s a terrible feeling, knowing you’re going to be embarrassed, knowing you’re going to be standing or sitting there in front of your peers, stuck on a word, your face reddening, and there’s not a thing you can do about it but struggle through it. As a child and teen, many tears were shed over my stuttering and frustration and humility that accompanied it.

As a result of all this, stutterers usually opt to just remain quiet in social settings, choosing to say nothing over suffering the humiliation of fumbling and bumbling through a comment or remark, of getting stuck and holding everything up while others wait for you to finish.

In recent years I’ve learned that fighting stuttering only makes it worse. Accepting it eases the anxiety and lessens the tension. I’ve also learned several techniques to move through a blockage. Now, I can hold whole conversations with few “episodes.” But even now, I get the sweats and racing heart when I’m in a group setting and someone says those awful, dreaded words, “Let’s go around the room and introduce ourselves.”

A few other interesting notes:

For most stutterers, the hardest thing to say is their own name, first and last. For years I simply could not say my first name which made for many awkward first impressions and introductions. My own name became my enemy. Even today I get stuck on my name (both first and last) more times than I’d like to and often resort to explaining my hesitancy with “You’ll have to be patient with me, I have a speech impediment.”

Stuttering is not too uncommon among children, affecting 5% of the population. But only 1% remain stutterers into adulthood.

My question for you is twofold:

How many of you know someone (besides me) who stutters?

What are your questions about stuttering? Don’t be shy either. As you can see, I’m not embarrassed by talking about it. I think the more the misconceptions are challenged and questions are answered the better off we’ll all be.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on April 13, 2011, in Life in General, Stuttering and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 94 Comments.

  1. I blog frequently and I truly thank you for your information.
    The article has truly peaked my interest. I will book mark your site and
    keep checking for new details about once per week. I subscribed to your Feed as
    well.

    Like

  2. This excellent website definitely has all the information I wanted concerning this
    subject and didn’t know who to ask.

    Like

  3. Oh my goodness! Awesome article dude! Thank you so much, However I am experiencing troubles with your RSS.
    I don’t know the reason why I cannot join it.
    Is there anybody getting identical RSS problems? Anyone who
    knows the answer will you kindly respond? Thanx!!

    Like

  4. I really like reading an article that will make men and women think.
    Also, thank you for allowing for me to comment!

    Like

  5. Good day! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog.
    Is it difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast.
    I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure
    where to start. Do you have any tips or suggestions?
    Thank you

    Like

  6. whoah this blog is magnificent i like reading your posts.
    Keep up the great work! You understand, a lot of people are searching around for this information, you could aid them greatly.

    Like

  7. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my blog so i came to “return the favor”.I’m attempting to find things to enhance my web
    site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

    Like

  8. Quality articles or reviews is the important to invite the users to pay a
    visit the site, that’s what this website is providing.

    Like

  9. I simply could not go away your website before suggesting that I extremely loved the usual info
    a person supply for your guests? Is going to be back
    frequently in order to inspect new posts

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

