An Open Letter to My “Fans”


First, a clarification. In the title of this post I put fans in quotes because, to me, having fans means you’re a celebrity or very public figure and I don’t see myself as either. I’m a guy. A dad. A husband. A friend. A regular Joe. And I happen to write books.

Okay, now that we got that out of the way . . .

I’ve said before several times and I’ll continue to say it until someone staples my mouth shut (then I’ll write it): I have the best “fans” in the writing world. Obviously, I don’t have the most or I wouldn’t be squeezing my writing into the early morning hours before going to my real job; I wouldn’t be typing this on a borrowed computer because my home computer is still on dial-up and slower than a slug with the palsy. But though you might be smaller than some in number, you more than make up for it in enthusiasm, support, and loyalty.

And others have noticed. My good friend, Tim George, who runs the Unveiled website and reviews books regularly has recently noticed that whenever he posts about me or my books, the first-time visitors stats to his site jump more than with any other author. The hits jump. The “Likes” of the post pile up quickly.

Folks, that’s not me . . . it’s you.

Your support is humbling and honoring. I mean that. The emails you send, the Facebook messages, the posts, the comments, they don’t go unnoticed. I read every one and am humbled every time. And others read them too.

So I just wanted to say thank you. I get a lot of comments and emails from readers thanking me for writing, for putting my heart and soul out there, and for doing what little I do to make a difference. But rarely does anyone thank you, the ones who make all this possible, the ones who keep me writing, who lift me up, who encourage me.

So thank you. Thank you!

Now, this will be the first of a couple more letters to my “fans.” Others will follow and news will be shared. In the upcoming months and year I’ll need you more than ever. No, it’s nothing with my health. As far as I know, I’m out of that dark cancer woods. I’ve been making some tough decisions that will affect you and me both. Decisions I’m excited about but that come with some jittery nerves as well. Stay tuned for that.

In the meantime, I hope you’ll enjoy Darkness Follows. I hope the story will thrill you and the message will cause you to ponder the wondrous love of our Heavenly Father. Our Daddy. And I hope you’ll take a moment to help spread the word, too. Maybe post a review on Amazon, post a link or comment on Facebook, or talk to friend about it.

Again, thank you. I know some of you but many I’ve never met and, unortunately, never will meet. But I appreciate all of you.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on April 18, 2011, in Writing Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Thanks for writing this Mike. I like your attitude

    Like

  2. Carol Holdefer

    You certainly do have FANS, and I am proud to be one of them. Keep up the great work.

    Like

  3. You’re a good man, Michael Dellosso. 😉

    Like

  4. Definitely proud to be a “fan” 😀

    Like

  5. Thank you very much for this post. I have to tell you that I love to read, but ever since I got saved the Lord convicted me about the books I was reading and that the material was unapporiate, most suspenseful books are pretty vulgar nowadays. I came across your book hunted in boarders….I was hooked!! I loved it,then I read screams and I loved it even more!! I give them to everyone I can to read….you are a very talented writer and I am thankful that God has used you in writing :0) . So keep up the great work and thank you for writing :0) also know that your books make good witnessing tools and conversation starters about the Lord!! Thank you again!!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

