An Eight-Year-Old’s Poetry


Here’s something different for you. My family loves the poetry of Shel Silverstein. My kids have three of his books and they’ve been read countless times. Well, my eight-year-old has been reading through Where the Sidewalk Ends and apparently got to feeling inspired. Below are two of the poems she recently wrote. Remember, she’s eight.

Ants in My Pants

I have ants in my pants,
I really do.
They’re always laying eggs.
They run in my pants
And it tickles, because
I have ants in my pants!
And the ants aren’t moving
to different pants.
My mom doesn’t believe
I have ants in my pants.
I said, “I never changed my pants,
That’s why
I have ants in my pants!”

Me In the Mirror

My reflection in the mirror
Told me one day.
“I’ll see you.”
And he did.
One day I walked past him
And we both said,
“Wait, where is my mom?”
And finally I said,
“Oh, she went to the bathroom,
Lets’ talk about something else.”
And he said, “OK.”
I said, “Let’s talk about you doing
Everything I do and say.”
“No way!”
Sigh, oh well.

Poems by Caroline Dellosso

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on April 20, 2011, in Family, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. These poems are absolutely delightful. You have a poet on your hands!

    Like

    • Thanks, Glynn. Thought you might get a kick out of them. I want to encourage her to keep up with this. We’ll have to keep getting Shel’s books until we have the whole collection 🙂

      Like

  2. Wow, the second one is a very mature concept! She seems a natural at rhythm and knowing when and how to close a poem. Please keep her encouraged in this 🙂

    Like

  3. Super cute! We love Shel also and I wrote my own poems when I was little. Now I teach poetry from Shel’s books to 3-5th grade! Very fun! Tell her to keep writing!!!

    Like

  4. Carol Holdefer

    These are too cute!! Shel would be proud!!! I also love Shel Silverstein’s poetry. My favorite is “Sick” I’ve had students go to State Fine Arts competitions and win with that poem. Love it!!

    Like

  5. Shawna Franklin

    Great poems Caroline! My kids love shel silverstein as well, but we don’t have his poems. We have the Giving Tree, and The Missing piece. If you don’t have these you should see if you could get them. they are great! Keep working on your poetry!

    Like

  6. Way to go Caroline!!! These are great! Love ya, Sweetie!

    Like

  7. FABULOUS!! I love them. They capture the true playfulness of someone her age. Keep up the great work!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

