A New Journey to Begin


As the edits for Frantic (releasing February, 2012) wind down I’m gearing up to start on my next novel (releasing October, 2012), and in fact, I’ve already begun the first chapter, begun to set the stage. This story will take me into new territory, pull me into a place and mood I’ve never gone before as a writer.

And I’m excited and terrified.

Anytime you start a new story the questions are plenty. Can I pull it off? Will it be acceptable to my publisher? Will the editor eat it alive? Will my readers go for it? Will it be believable?

And this time there are more questions than ever. Most of the story is in my head and I love it, but that doesn’t always mean everyone else will love it too. I’m taking a chance, a risk, and boy oh boy I hope it pays off.

But before I think about all that, before I bite my nails and tug on my hair and pace holes in my carpet I have to write the blessed thing. The story and characters must come alive for me so they’ll come alive for you, the reader. I’m slowly getting to know them and their story and it’s both heart-wrenching and tender. I’ll keep you posted as I embark on this journey. It should be a wild ride, indeed.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on April 26, 2011, in Christian Fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Cant wait!!!

    Like

  2. Kelly Furey Weiderhold

    You can pull it off! I’m sure your readers will go for it and since it is new territory, maybe new readers? My family loves your books!!

    Like

  3. Shawna Franklin

    You’ll be fine! look how far you’ve come (with the Lord’s help of course!) in such a short time! I can’t wait to hear some more about it.

    Like

  4. Mike, I was wondering what process you use when writing a novel. Do you map it out with an outline, Post-its, or journal entries? Do you write on a schedule in a linear fashion (starting with chapter 1 and finishing with the last chapter) or do you skip around in the narrative as inspiration strikes?

    Like

    • I’m a seat-of-the-pants writer. When I get an idea I mull it over for a few days/weeks, thinking about where it’s going to start, how it’s all going to end, some basic plot points, and the characters. I want to get a fairly firm grasp on the characters before I start. Once I’m comfortable, I dive in. I don’t keep notecards or use any fancy software. For the most part, I keep the storyline in my head and am constantly thinking about what’s coming next.

      I usually write from chapter 1 straight through but for the story I’m just starting I’ll be doing it a bit differently. It’s going to take place in two different time periods so I’ll write the one, then the other then splice them together for the final product. I’ve never done that before so I’m hoping it goes off okay.

      Great question!!

      Like

    • Oh, and yes, I write on a schedule. I like to write at least 1,000 words a day, 7 days a week. That varies, of course, but I shoot for the average.

      Like

  5. I’m sure you’ll pull it off – and pretty well at that 🙂 Really looking forward to the upcoming books Mike 🙂

    Like

  6. Mike, I know God will walk with you every step of the way in the direction He is leading you. 24 years ago my wife was diagnoses with incurable brain cancer and went through traumatic surgeries in two years. I have never forgotten a woman who called us the night before her first surgery and read the following verse over the phone:

    Joshua told the people, “Consecrate yourselves, for tomorrow the LORD will do amazing things among you. (Josh 3:5).

    We celebrated our 36th anniversary a few months back.

    I believe God is about to do amazing things for you and your family. Keep putting those hands on the keys brother.

    Like

    • Thanks for the encouraging words, Tim. I don’t think I knew that about your wife (or didn’t remember). What a blessing you both are to me. And thanks for the verse, I needed it and love it! Will be praying for you too as you move forward with some tough decisions.

      Like

  7. We’re praying for you Mike. God can use any circumstance for His glory. Joshua 3:5…what a great verse to hold onto.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

