Trying Something Risky


I get asked a lot about how I write, if I outline before starting, if I spend a lot of time plotting and researching characters, if I write chronologically or jump around.

Up until now I’ve always written chronologically, started at the beginning and worked my way through to the end. One scene at a time, one chapter at a time. If there are multiple point-of-view characters, I hop from one character to the next as I write my way through the story, usually switching point-of-views without a hitch.

Until now.

I’ve been working feverishly on my next novel (A Thousand Sleepless Nights, due out October, 2012) and making great progress. But I’m doing something different, something daring for me. Instead of writing this book chronologically, I’m writing it one point-of-view character at a time. There are five, two main characters and three supporting characters, plus a fairly involved back story.

Why am I doing this? The main reason is because this story is all about the people involved and I want to make sure I get in each character’s head and stay there for their entire story. Hopefully, the reader will be able to do the same. My plan is to write each character’s story then splice all the accounts together into one seemless novel. It’s a big challenge and will take a lot of tweaking but I think in the end it will make all the difference. I hope so, anyway. You’ll have to let me know next October.

I don’t know if I’ve ever been as excited and nervous about a novel as I am this one. I’ve also never felt more connected to my characters as I do writing this story. It’s a whole new journey I’m embarking on . . . it could change everything.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on June 13, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Donnalynn Davis

    It sounds simply awesome. Kudos to you for stepping out of your own confort zone to create in a whole new way.
    Being in a character through an entire story does bring you more intimately in tune with that character. How exciting!
    Yes, it is challenging, I’m sure . . . but oh, the reward for a job well done! The sense of accomplishment at project end will be BIG!
    I just hope it doesn’t give you A Thousand Sleepless Nights.

    Like

  2. Wow, sounds pretty interesting. Looking forward to that too 😉

    Like

  3. Mike,

    I just finished Darkness Follows and think it is your best book yet! (Yes, I have read them all)
    A Thousand Sleepless Nights sounds like it will be well worth the read. Don’t you have another book due out before that one though? I personally can’t wait…

    Like

    • Tina, yes, FRANTIC comes out Feb. 7, 2012 and it’s another fast-paced thriller with some creeps and chills. I broke my mold with that one, too, setting it in Maine. I love Maine and hope I captured the aura of the north country in this book. Can’t wait for it to release.

      Like

  4. Your writing creeps me out and enthralls me at the same time! I don’t usually read this type of book, but am finding Darkness Follows intriguing and yanking me back…kind of like Sam getting yanked into the past. I’m about half-way through and am being now taunted by my wife who finished yesterday. Great writing Mike and I can’t wait to discuss next week on Speak UP!

    Like

  5. Hi Mike,
    I can see that plan working for you. Are you using anything like Scrivener, which I hear some writers talking about, to keep their works in progress in order? I was thinking about using the beta version simply because I wrote my second book in my series by scenes and now my revison process is more than challenging. By scenes I mean whatever popped into this seat-of-the -pants writers brain. Pulling it all together has been a bit much, yet the ability to create the story was easier. Finding the best way isn’t easy is it?

    Like

    • Jill, I’ve never used any kind of software like that. I’m still so old-school I use index cards to organize my scenes/chapters. I’m enjoying writing the story this way because it’s allowing me to spend a lot of time focusing on one character at a time and for the kind of story this is it really works. I’m a little apprehensive about putting all the pieces together at the end, though, thinking there will be holes to fill in and plot lines that need more support.

      Like

  6. That’s quite a step. I’ve never heard of anyone doing that before. I’ll have to see the end result of this, it’s a very unique approach.

    Like

  1. Pingback: Can’t Always Get What You Want | Shaggin the Muse

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

