Blessings In Disguise


One of my favorite songs currently is “Blessings” by Laura Story. You can find the lyrics and watch her sing it live at http://www.lyricshall.com/lyrics/Laura+Story/Blessings/.

In this song Laura asks the question, “what if the trials of this life, the rain, the storms, the hardest nights, are Your blessings in disguise?”

That gets me thinking every time I hear the song. We go through a lot of trials, some more than others. Loved ones are taken from us, spouses reject and abandon us, illness strikes, financial security crumbles, jobs disappear, children break our heart. Sleepless nights ensue, questions, tears, fist-shaking. Darkness creeps in and encircles us with its tentacles, and tightens until we feel we can’t breathe anymore.

But what if those trials are God’s way of drawing us closer to Him? What if they are His way of showering us with His blessings and giving us just a glimpse of what eternity with Him will be like?

I can honestly say I was never closer to God than when I was at my lowest point in the valley of cancer. His presence, His arms around me, His words spoken to my heart, during those hard, lonely times, during the sleepless nights, during the tears, was the most precious blessing I could have received at the time. It was exactly what I needed. And even now, three-plus years removed from the ordeal, if I close my eyes and take myself back to that time, I can still feel Him there. The emotion is still so raw, the blessings so near.

As Laura sings, we pray for blessings and peace and protection and prosperity, and all that’s well and good. We should pray for those things. But what if through the trials of this life we see and experience God in ways we never would otherwise? What if trials are his blessings in disguise?

Kind of gives us a different perspective on trials, doesn’t it?

I encourge you to read the lyrics, listen to the song.  Laura sings from firsthand experience, too. In 2006 her husband was hospitalized with a brain tumor, and during the surgery he contracted meningitis. He’s recovered, as she puts it, about 85%, and Laura testifies to the abundance of blessings she received from God during that trial.

I’ve been so blessed and touched by her song that it inspired the title of my October, 2012 release, A Thousand Sleepless Nights.

I’ll leave you with the chorus of “Blessings”:

Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops?
What if Your healing comes through tears?
What if a thousand sleepless nights
Are what it takes to know You’re near?
What if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise?

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on September 2, 2011, in Cancer, Christian Living, Life in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Wow, Mike! Very well said. We love this song too. I am so thankful that the Lord has used my trials and turned them into blessings. I try to be thankful in every situation. When I am weak, that is when I am the strongest.

    Like

  2. Mike, great post! I totally agree with what you have said…especially about the nearness of God during trying and difficult times. I pray God’s riches continue to rest upon you, your family, and your writing!

    Like

  3. Mike in everything we Thank God .. it is hard to say that let alone feel when we are walking in the vale of shadows.. which can be one or many at one time of the life situation you mentioned in your post.. But I know from life experience that God never forsake us or leave us without making sure we will be able to pass the narrow path..
    2 Corinthians (8-9)
    8 We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; 9 persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed
    Pleased to know you are doing okay now.. Thank you for sharing your ordeal but still giving praise to God

    Like

  4. I love your post, Mike. I love the song and I agree that God is closest when we are so much in need of Him. Yet, I find it difficult to think of suffering as a blessing in disguise. Through the past 11 years of my oldest daughter’s mental illness we have walked closely with God and He has seen us through much, yet . . . it’s so hard.

    Like

    • Hi Jillian .. It is never easy.. and no one can feel what you and your family went and still going through, but Him .. He is able to walk with you and feel all the pain and help too..
      may the Lord Surround your family with His strength ..

      Like

  5. I can relate. When I went through one of the darkest times of my life, I cried out to God the most. We tend to go through life with God in the background when things are going well. It’s when trials come up, and sometimes overwhelm us that we grow closer to Him. Not the way we’d prefer, but His ways are not our ways.

    Like

    • Thanks for sharing this, Ellen. You’re absolutely right, it’s not the way we prefer life to happen but fortunately we’re not in charge 🙂 Sometimes, all we can do is hold on for dear life and trust Him.

      Like

  6. Thanks for the comments. I know some of you and know you are fully aware of what I’m talking about. You’ve been there . . . fully there. Jill, yes it is hard to see blessings in trials or to understand the meaning behind a trial.

    Like

  7. Mike –
    It’s been a while!! I too have been especially blessed by this song. Still walking through the valley right now, but God has been with me every step of the way. Having a few of my thousand sleepless nights right now, but I’m learning a lot about God’s grace and mercy right now that I probably wouldn’t learn otherwise. That song is so true!!

    I hope this finds you well.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

