One-Day Fiction Workshop in the Planning Stage


I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately about the future and what it holds. I know, it’s futile thinking because not a one of us knows what awaits around the next hour let alone week, month, or year. But I think it’s beneficial to weigh options, take inventory, and make tentative plans.

One of the things I’ve discovered over the past couple years is that despite some challenges, I love teaching writing. Love it. I’d do it full-time if I could. And I love encouraging and inspiring other writers to press on and fulfill the calling God has on their life.

So I’ve decided to start putting together very tentative plans to develop a one-day fiction writing workshop. My brainstorming has come up with some pretty cool stuff too. I’d like to make it more than educational; I’d like it to be both entertaining and inspiring as well. I want writers to walk away from this day motivated to get out there, dive into their manuscript, and finish the task, knowing they’re writing what God has put on their heart. I want them to leave with an attitude of humility realizing that what they are writing is bigger than them, bigger than any agent or editor or critique partner, that it’s part of God’s purpose for their life. And I want them to leave feeling like they’re equipped to complete the journey.

That’s a tall order, I know it is. But it’s doable . . . I know it is. I’d like to offer this workshop through local writing groups then expanding beyond that group.

More information will come as I get a better picture of what it will look like and how it will flow.

In the meantime, I could use your help in two ways:

(1) If you’re part of a local writer’s group, could you please either leave a comment or send me a private email stating where you meet (town, state) and approximately how many are in your group.

(2) If a one-day workshop of this nature interests you, please leave a comment. In this economy I know money is an issue. Tentatively, I’m thinking of keeping the pricing low, in the $40-60 range.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on September 22, 2011, in Writing Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. very good idea.. I love that , I just wish I could be part of it.. I will send you an e-mail about some other that may take part in this ..

    Like

  2. Mike

    I’m starting a local Christian artists’ “community” called the ink*well at my book launch on October 7th. You idea would be a great thing for me to push in the future if the ink*well, as I call it, flies. So, I’ll keep that in mind. We have a blog, but it is only temporary right now based on how much interest I can generate in my locale. Also, I’m meeting with the local ACFW group for the first time this Saturday and I’ll tell the group about your plans. Any way I can help, let me know. It’s a great idea!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

