It Just Angered Me


On my drive to work today I passed a young boy who couldn’t have been older than 10 and barely pushing 4 1/2 feet walking to school lugging his book bag on his back and French horn case in his left hand. He leaned to the right like a stiff wind was pushing him over to keep the thing from dragging on the ground. Each step looked labored and more than once he stumbled.

The scene angered me for a number of reasons.

One, I’m assuming the kid was walking to the nearest elementary school, still a good half-mile down the road, and that he came from the neighborhood at least a quarter-mile behind him. Quite a walk when you’re carrying your body weight in luggage and your legs can’t be more than two feet long.

Two, what kind of parent would send their fourth grader walking at least 3/4 of a mile like that? At least get the kid a luggage carrier with wheels so he can pull the case and book bag. Maybe you think I’m soft, that it won’t kill the kid to do a little manual labor twice a day. Okay, maybe I am. I just felt for him and wanted to help. Which leads to . . .

Three. I did want to help him. I wanted to pull over and give him a lift to school or at least park my car and carry the horn case for him. Now, I know what you’re thinking. It was the same thing I thought. Yeah, right, and get some concerned parent calling the cops on me for being some kind of pervert. And the thing that angered me is that they should. It’s what I would do. What kind of a world do we live in where you can’t even help out a kid without fear of winding up in the back of a squad car?

It just angered me is all. The poor kid was on his own and society said I couldn’t help him.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on September 28, 2011, in Life in General. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. My daughter was in pain for quite a while because of the load in her back pack. She only walked to the bus stop then around school. Adjusting the pack straps helped, but I’m with ya. Some schools won’t allow the bags with wheels. Too many kids scurrying in the halls – causes accidents.

    Like

  2. Mike, I am currently reading “A Stolen Life” by Jaycee Dugard. This is the kind of situation that resulted in her being kidnapped and tortured for many years. Parents, LISTEN UP!
    Do NOT let your kids walk to school alone! I don’t care how short or how far the distance is. If they live close enough that they can walk, then they can get a ride from YOU. People are out there who WILL steal children. Do you really think all of the MISSING kids in this country just decided to run away one day? STOP THE MADNESS!!! I personally, would have helped him anyways and the authorities can get bent. God Bless you Mike for caring!

    Like

  3. Could you get to know him and his parents and arrange to bring him to school when he has such a load? This could eventually hurt his back.

    I’d never send my child out alone for the very reason you mentioned. Some not-so-nice person could easily grab him.

    Like

  4. It’s a sad world we live in that we can’t even help someone without people questioning our motivation and assuming the worst.

    Like

  5. Mike, I’m with you all the way. And seeing this post just confirms my opinion of the type of Christian father and man of God you are. (And I know Christian man of God is redundant, but you get my drift.) So many kids these days “send” themselves to school alone and come home alone because of parents working. It’s such a sad commentary on our society that we cannot help kids (or even adults) without being taken for a pervert or something.

    Like

  6. I cannot say that I would have been that parent BUT perhaps the mom/dad/caregiver had to work and was unable to provide transportation for the child. Perhaps the person was even ill. We don’t know the other shoes on someone’s feet yet we are very quick to state why, how, and what the heck.. Sad that we cannot help others as the world today is just not the same as it once was 20 yrs ago.,

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

