The Darlington Society, OPEN CALL FOR CHARTER MEMBERS


A couple months ago I came up with the idea for The Darlington Society. I was feeling a bit overwhelmed with my writing and life in general and decided I needed a support group. Yes, it took me almost five books to realize that . . . I can be a slow learner at times. I ran the idea past the marketing and publicity people at my publisher and they agreed and offered some valuable input.

And now here we are, the day has come for the open call for charter members of The Darlington Society. If you’re interested I’ll ask you to do two things.

One, read over the details of the Societyagain and please make sure this is something you want to commit to for nine months. I’m excited about getting to know some of my readers better and working with them to reach more people with my books. If you’re a member, I’m betting you’ll count it a positive experience. We’ll be a blessing to each other.

Two, today only, November 1, post a comment TO THIS BLOG POST telling me in a few sentences why you want to be a part of the Society.

I’ll read over those posts, pray about them, and announce the 25 charter members on Wednesday, November 2. I know in some previous announcements I said it would be the first 25 to respond but this is too important of a decision to leave it up to that. I apologize for the change in course.

**Now, a disclaimer is necessary. I have readers overseas who I know will want to be a part of this. That’s okay. We’re not going to exclude anyone just because they live in a different country. That would hardly be fair. BUT, please understand we can’t send hard copies of ARCs/manuscripts overseas, the postage is just too much. If you live outside the US you will recieve the early reader’s copy of my next book via email as an electronic edition. You may however order copies of my books directly from me at the discounted prices but I’ll have to ask you to cover the postage cost.

Lastly, please help spread the word about this unique opportunity by sharing this post on Facebook and Twitter and maybe even your own blog.

I’m looking forward to reading all your comments and embarking on a new journey with you.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on November 1, 2011, in The Darlington Society and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 35 Comments.

  1. I am an avid reader, a high school English teacher, a grad student (at night), an aspiring writer (in stolen moments), and most importantly, a lover of the Lord. This sounds like something I would love to be a part of for many reasons, preeminently because I love the lifechanging power that fiction has, and the love for creating that God has placed inside each one of us. I would love to be apart.

    Like

  2. I responded over on the Society site. I’d love to support you in this way

    Like

  3. *a part πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Okay Mike,
    I’m not following directions very well today.. let’s try this again! πŸ™‚

    I’d love to support your writing ministry! I’ve been with you since the beginning, and have come to consider you a friend and prayer partner. You know I’m an active blogger/interviewer/ and promoter of Christian fiction and non-fiction. I’d be honored to be a part of this project!

    Like

  5. I haven’t read any of your books yet but have run a book review blog for the last 4+ years titled Bibliophile’s Retreat. I am a voracious reader in a variety of genres. Fantasy and speculative Christian fiction among them. I’d love to help promote your books and support you as an author. Of course the free and discounted books are a bit of a draw as well. Can’t wait to hear who makes the cut for your team. I logged in using my review site URL so if you click on my name next to this comment you should be able to check out my review blog.

    Like

  6. Melinda Williams

    Mike, ever since you posted this idea I’ve been a bundle of energy and my family may be tired of hearing me talk about it. I’ve prayed and prayed about whether or not to add my name to the list, not because I don’t want to do it, I very much would love the opportunity, but I feel that just because we want to do something, that doesn’t necessarily mean it’s what the Lord wants for us at that moment. After much consideration, I decided I would put in my request to be a member. Your books (and blog) have been a very real source of inspiration, encouragement, and sometimes laughs for me, as I’m sure they are for all who are blessed enough to read your work. I would be honored if I were able to in some small way repay the help you’ve given to me through your writings.
    If I’m not chosen, know that I’ll still be praying for you and all your endeavors. I truly believe in your work because I can see God in everything written from the forewards to the last pages.

    Like

  7. I’ve discovered writing as somewhat of a spiritual discipline. It’s both a way to explore the things of God and formulate some of the abstract into something more concrete, as well as a way to tap into the imagination of others and hopefully take them on a journey that allows them to explore the heart of God as well. I’ve been writing off and on since I was in junior high (I’m 29 now). I feel like it’s a passion God has placed inside of me, and I want to use it to create stories of hope that draw people close to the heart of God. More close to home, I have a daughter and two sons, all under 3, that I’m very excited to Jesus. I want to encourage their creative spirits because I think that will help them to be amazed by Jesus more and more.

    I’ve enjoyed reading your books and seeing the pictures of hope you paint through your stories. Your love for Jesus is evident. I’d love the opportunity to learn from you, as well as support the ministry you’re doing through your writing.

    Like

  8. Justin Goodrich

    Mike,

    So, having an autographed copy of “Son of God” isn’t enough? LOL!! Okay, Okay. How about when you needed EMT information and you came to me? Man the bribes just aren’t working. Alright, fine. Here it is.
    I was very close to death in November 2000. I became a Christian 11 years ago on 10/30/2000. It is 11 years ago that I almost died. I believe that Christ has put me in your path for a reason brother. I am an actor, director, singer/songwriter, writer of poetry, as yet unpublished, and I enjoy reading fiction. I am also a great speller, researcher, editor, and creative mind. I have a very VISUAL mind and as I read, I am constructing the film in my head. I am also pretty funny! At least, that’s what I am told. When you need that laugh to bring you back up, I will be there to provide it. I would love to see how the publishing process works, be a part of your team, and read a manuscript before it is published.
    Oh yeah, if you don’t let me in, I am so STALKING YOU! ROFL!!! Kidding, bro.
    In Christ,
    Justin

    Like

  9. Hi Mike! This is a really exciting opportunity, and I would love to be a part of it. I am a fledgling novelist and an avid fan of suspense/thrillers. Whether it’s films or literature, I enjoy analyzing and critiquing this genre. If it’s creepy and it’s kooky, mysterious and spooky, I’m there!

    Being a part of this journey with you and supporting you along the way would be incredibly fascinating and fun! I have a bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree in writing, and I have worked as a copy editor, writer, movie critic, and editor. I understand the importance of strong storytelling and constructive criticism. I would love to help you in any way that I can, while also learning along the way.

    Like

  10. I would like to be considered for the opportunity to be a part of the Darlington Society. I am foremost an avid reader, especially in the genre of Christian Suspense (although I don’t really care to label it quite like that). Secondly, I am a writer. I have been studying craft for a few years now, and in the process learned that even more than writing, I love supporting other writers. I write the Christian fiction review blog. http://readgreatfiction.wordpress.com, and try to be an encouragement to the authors I have the opportunity to get to know and whose books I review. It sounds like the Darlington society would be an opportunity for me to do just that for you. I have read your writing, heard you speak on writing, and would like to be a part of what you are trying to accomplish through your writing.
    On a side note, I am delighted to see that you chose to prayerfully consider the applicants instead of taking the first 25. When I saw the original post I was concerned that you would end up with a group that might not be the best match, but would rather just have had the quickest fingers. Whether I am selected or not, I believe prayer is the best way for you to have made your selection. Thank you for considering me.

    Like

  11. Mike I discovered you two weeks ago when I checked DARKNESS FOLLOWS out from the library. It was a great story. I am now reading THE HUNTED. Keep up the good stroies

    Like

  12. Hi Mike – I love the idea of the Darlington Society, a collective for enhancing the writing process and ultimately your novels and I trust other writers’ (in the collective) tomes. I’d love to participate for a few reasons:

    1. I’m keen to actively support and pray for you and your writing,
    2. I already write reviews on Amazon for your books (and tweet such) so it would be great to add further to the creative process whilst also gaining benefit myself,
    3. I too am on a writing journey, first novel due out in 2012, so will gain valuable insight myself from the publishing and writing tips.
    4. I am based in Sydney, Australia and have no issues with paying shipping and such.

    All the best Mike…

    Ian

    Like

  13. I would love to be part of the Darlington Society. I really enjoyed Darkness Follows and would love to be involved in your upcoming books. I am an active book blogger and will spread the news as much as I can via that, Twitter, and Facebook. I read a wide variety of books, much of which is Christian. I have been a Christian all my life and maintain an almost constant conversation with God, and would be happy to make your ministry part of that dialogue. Also, I have lots of experience as an editor and have edited several novels over the past few years. While I’m sure you already have an editing team, it never hurts to have an extra trained eye looking at your work! πŸ˜‰

    Blessings!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

