30 Days of Faith: Day 3


Hercules C130 transport plane from evacuation ...
Image by sludgegulper via Flickr

I am the wife of a Marine. We have been married for 11 years Dec. 30, 2011.  It was into our 7th year that he was 1st called to deploy to Iraq; we were stationed in Hawaii at the time.

The day that he left we said our good byes at home so that he would be able to do his job and get his marines ready without having to watch  his family stand there and cry.

My oldest daughter, then 5, and I were praying over my husband and randomly my daughter asks God to please keep the plane safe and not crash. At the time I thought that was kind of an odd thing for a 5-year-old to say but I just agreed with her in prayer.

The next day my dear friend Robin and her family told me I needed to get out of the house, they were taking us shopping. I remember we were standing in Walmart and I received a phone call from my husband saying they had to turn around and come back to Hawaii because they had lost one of the airplane’s engines and had to  dump fuel into the ocean. They landed safely and left the next day, but I thank God that he used my 5-year-old to speak his words of protection over my husband.

–Dawn Casas

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on January 4, 2012, in 30 Days of Faith, Christian Living and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. iambelievinggod

    Children’s sensitivity to God’s voice always amazes me. That must be one of the reasons Christ emphasized having the faith of a child….Great testimony and so glad you shared.

    Like

  2. That gave me chills! My favorite thing about being a Christian is seeing prayers answered. I feel like the Lord allows us to be part of His miracles by letting us pray.. Blessed by your words today, encouraged to listen to my 4 year old’s prayers more closely.

    Like

  3. Hi, Teresa! Glad he and his team were safe! It’s been my experience that sometimes the must seemingly ‘nice but not important’ prayers have been prompted by the Lord.

    Like

  4. dawn, thanks for sharing such a precious example of how HE longs for us and invites us to participate in what HE is doing. i love how kids have innocent sensitive ears that don’t rationalize HIS heart whispers away.

    Like

  5. What an amazing testimony! I love how children can many times pray things so easily while we tend to brush off some thoughts as random. What an encouraging reminder of God answering prayer. Thanks for sharing this with us!

    Like

  1. Pingback: 30 + Days of Faith: Link-Up With Mike Dellosso « Nikole Hahn's Journal

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

