30 Days of Faith: Day 9


My husband Tom and I had been married for 21 years and he was not a believer.  I’d prayed long and hard for him and it seemed as if God didn’t even know my address.  Tom was a good man, a moral man, good husband and father, but he was lost.

One night I had a dream. It was Dec. 10, 1994 and in my dream I was literally fighting satan for Tom’s soul.  I fought him for 3 days and on the last day, I said out loud, “I don’t know how much longer I can stand this.”

Satan sat in a corner of the room and he looked at me and smirked.

I became angry, stood up in all my weakness and said, “But I’m not giving up!”

Satan rose up out of the chair, walked past me so close I could feel his breath on my face, and said, “Well, I am.”

I woke up crying and later spoke to my pastor about it.  His advice was that Tom’s salvation would probably happen soon.

Fast forward to Friday, May 19, 2000.  I was in Joyful Noise, a Christian music store near my home, and the owner asked me if my husband had gotten saved yet.  (We’d prayed for him together earlier.) I told her no, he wasn’t, and she grabbed my hand and began to pray.

When I went to my car and got in, my heart was lighter and the Holy Spirit began to speak to my heart, saying, “Get ready for a celebration for the lost lamb is coming home.”

Boy, I tell you what!  I almost had to stop the car and get out and do a dance before the Lord.

Now, it’s Monday, May 22, 2000, just 3 days later.  Tom and I are on our way to the nearest town to shop.  Our hometown is incredibly small and we have to shop 12 miles away.  We’re driving down the road and I asked him why he didn’t want to serve the Lord.  (I had learned early on not to nag him about this.)

He looked at me and said, “I want to but I just don’t know how.”

And I replied, “Well, I do.”

We pulled into the parking lot of Lifeway Christian Store and I led him to the Lord.  Glory to God!  We went in the store and bought him a Bible and he has been serving God for 11 years now!

Tom is an incredible source of encouragement to me also. I have several chronic pain conditions that flare on occasion and last night I woke up in pain and I must have been groaning, for I felt Tom’s hand touch my shoulder and I knew he was praying for me.

I had prayed for him so long to come to Christ and I’d even save him a seat beside me in church!  Not only did our precious Lord answer my prayer but He allowed me to be the one to lead my Tom to Christ.  God is good.

–Susan Snodgrass

**Feel free to share your own story of God’s faithfulness by leaving it as a comment to any of these posts!

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on January 10, 2012, in 30 Days of Faith, Christian Living and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Susan, I love hearing stories like this! It reminds me of one of my sisters and her husband. When they married he was an athiest. My family prayed for him for a long time and I’ll never forget the phone call from my sister telling me that her husband had accepted Christ. It was very similar to how yours came to the Lord. What a blessing!

    Like

    • Susan Snodgrass

      How awesome our Lord is, wmelinda! Your sister’s story is even more wonderful than mine because her husband was an atheist. That is powerful. Thanks for sharing.

      Like

  2. Susan, What a wonderful story of God’s grace! My husband is a born again Christian but 8 years ago he became disillusioned with the church and questioned God. For the next 8 years, I attended church alone with my young children aching (pleading with the Lord!) for my husband’s presence and spiritual oneness. Although I was disappointed and angry that he had gone back on his marital promises to me, I too felt a determination not to allow Satan to “have his way” with my family. About a year ago, he became ill and continued to suffer for the next 6-8 months with no diagnosis and no answers. His breaking point came when he lost his job due to his illness. On my cell phone, huddled in my workplace bathroom, I talked to him knowing he had reach his lowest most desperate point. I asked him how much farther down he could get before he would look UP. I had a distinct feeling that there was a spiritual battle being waged over his life at that moment. I called his mother and a friend to pray urgently. Later, he explained that he felt an emotional change after our phone call and in the next few weeks he began softening to the Holy Spirit and started attending church with the children and I. A few months later, he surprised me by standing in front of our church, joining as a member, asking for my forgiveness, and promising to lead our family spiritually again. His health has greatly improved and he is on a new path in life. We aren’t quite sure where He is leading but PTL we are walking together now!

    The Lord taught me during these 8 years that His grace is ENOUGH and that I am NOT in control. Only God sees into our hearts and knows what each of us needs. He asks us to be faithful and obedient and let Him do the rest in His way and in His time. Easy words to type. Tough to do moment to moment day in day out.

    I share my story to encourage those of you who are also waiting on the Lord. He WILL give you the grace to make it through and He is faithful! I remain confident of this: I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. Wait for the Lord, be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord. Ps 27:13-14

    Like

    • Susan Snodgrass

      What a wonderful testimony you have, Annette! Praise God for His unfailing love and His wooing His children back to Him. You mentioned God being in control and that’s one area where we, as His children, have such a difficult time. We seem to think we can fix everything without bothering Him, forgetting Proverbs 3:5 & 6 which tells us to acknowledge Him in ALL our ways and He will direct our paths. It’s so incredibly difficult to do that every time, though, isn’t it? There are situations that we struggle with and work out all sorts of scenarios that WE think will be the most wonderful solution and then God works it out completely different. I’ve learned to pray: ‘God, work this out for my good and Your glory.’ Still, sometimes even then it’s hard to take my hand out. He wants the best for us and if we’d just let Him do it His way, we’d be so much better off.
      I commend you for the faith you’ve shown in this most difficult situation and pray that God will continue to spread His blessings abundantly in your lives. Blessings to you, dear sister.

      Like

    • Annette, can I post your story and tag it on to the end of this 30 days of faith?

      Like

      • Yes, Mike, please do. It is so encouraging to hear stories of God’s faithfulness in others’ lives in the 30 Days of Faith!

        Like

    • annette…your story is deeply touching. thanks for sharing. psalm 27 and especially verses 13 and 14 have been my hope. i love how HE keeps bringing that passage to my attention in various ways…that IS a glimpse of His goodness “in the land of the living” for me today.

      Like

  3. i needed to read your story susan!

    it’s HOPE for when the road has been long.
    a precious example of His fight FOR US,
    each person an individual soul,
    and that “we wrestle not against flesh and blood…”

    the eyes and ears of your heart amaze me
    you saw His faithfulness
    and heard His whispers…
    HE is shining through you.
    thanks.

    Like

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Faith: Day 15 « MIKE DELLOSSO

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

