30 Days of Faith: Day 11


English: Alfred Edersheim (1825-1889), Austria...

Image via Wikipedia

From the time I first became a Christian (1973), my faith was largely in my head. I read and studied; I took college-level courses in Old Testament, New Testament, the Life of Christ and Bible Study Methods. I read church history, becoming familiar with names like F.F. Bruce and Sir Wiliam Ramsay and even wading through Alfred Edersheim’s “Life and Times of Jesus the Messiah.” I read J.I. Packer and C.S. Lewis. I read popular writers, too — Dobson, Swindoll, Stanley, Lucado and others. I learned how to use commentaries, Bible atlases and dictionaries, topical bibles and other resources. And I taught — adult classes, junior highs, children and toddlers.

Almost 30 years after becoming a Christian, I went on a short-term missions trip to Central Europe, and met God in a small church in Germany that had previously been a social hall for the local communist party. The details of the story are here: http://faithfictionfriends.blogspot.com/2011/12/coming-home-epiphany.html. The practical result of that experience in Germany was the head knowledge came face-to-face with the heart knowledge, and was found wanting.

For almost three decades I spoke it, explained it, encouraged it, argued it, defended it. and believed it. And then I experienced the reality of it. In the almost 10 years since that trip, I have been in a kind of wilderness, praying and writing, writing and thinking, praying and listening. Now the wilderness time is coming to an end. I don’t know exactly what that will mean, but I am content to embrace whatever it is that is coming. And something is clearly coming.

But I am struck speechless with God’s faithfulness.

Glynn Young

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on January 12, 2012, in 30 Days of Faith, Christian Living and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. This a very moving post. It’s so gratifying to read about someone who appreciates God.

    Like

  2. What a beautiful reminder of what following God really looks like. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. As bad as we want the head and the heart it is up to HIM the timing.

    Like

  4. So true. It’s a beautiful moment when the mind and heart collide. Thanks for this. 🙂

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

