30 Days of Faith: Day 20


One of the biggest ways God has shown me His faithfulness is in restoring what was lost to me in my sin, in the days before my salvation.

I had a wonderful relationship with my cousin, so much so that we called each other “best cousins.” I moved out of the state we lived in and we lost touch.

I started dating a guy when I was 15. Neither of us had any business being in a relationship at all, let alone with each other. He was a year older than me, but was just as immature. A miserable three year on-again-off-again high school relationship ensued.

When I was getting ready to graduate high school, my cousin came out to see me graduate. Somehow or another in God’s plan for our lives, my cousin and my boyfriend started a relationship. It was devastating. To me personally, to my and my boyfriend’s and my and my cousin’s relationships, and in the relationship between our moms.

For five years I struggled with unforgiveness, anger, bitterness, and guilt. She and I were not on speaking terms. I was forced to see him from time to time, which did not aid the healing process.

Finally, in 2005, my husband of eight months and I attended a church for the first time together. That day the Lord met me, and I laid my sins and burdens at the foot of the Cross. I took His mantle upon me and felt burdened to send her a Christmas card.

That was the beginning of a restoration between us. I never knew the power of what God could do, and over the course of the last year or two He has restored our relationship to the point where it is almost as though nothing ever happened between us. All Praise and glory and honor to Him Who sits upon the Throne!

–Becka

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on January 21, 2012, in 30 Days of Faith, Christian Living and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I enjoyed reading this. It’s so important to realize that God knows what is best for us, even when we don’t. Sometimes we try to hold onto someone in a relationship because we have attributed this individual with an ideal personality and then when this person lets us down, we get all concerned and think he has changed, when in reality, he was always the same. God is good. He always wants us, His children to have what is best for us.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

