30 Days of Faith: Day 22


It was December 2009 and after five years of painstakingly getting out of bed early to put words to paper, my 365-page devotion book was complete.  I admired my own craftiness. The ability to rediscover so many stories during my life and place them in the form of devotion in such a unique fashion was sheer brilliance… to my pea-brain anyway!

I thought this book was going to grant the freedom from my day job.  I would quit and become Jerry Jenkins, traveling the world sharing witty stories.  But God’s plan is often very different from man’s.

My quick search for publishers led me to a small website called Christian Devotions Ministries.  The site led me to the “Write for Us” link and I immediately began altering one of my five-star devotions.  After a quick alteration to meet the word count requirement, I pressed send.  I knew stardom was close at hand.

One-week later, I received a warm email from a sweet southern gal named Cindy.  She said my devotion “showed promise…”

Wait, what was that again?  My devotion showed promise?  This was my All-Star devo!  What did “showed promise” mean?

As I continued to read the note, she explained a couple errors that were contained in my writing and attached her ideas.  With fingers trembling, I opened the attached file. To my horror, there were more red splotches than black. I closed the document and gazed at the file containing my book, the same file that contained hours of labor, deliberation and Bible study.

“No publisher in their right-mind would choose to publish this.”

I sat in self-pity; five years of work now needed a complete makeover.

“God, why?”  I didn’t know what else to say.

A few weeks later, I felt another tapping on my shoulder.

“Go open your email.”

It was New Years Day, a time for my family to hang-out, play games and eat lots of food.  I didn’t have time for this, but I was pulled to my computer.  The inbox flashed with a new message from Christian Devotions Ministries.  The daily devotion was written by Eddie and Cindy, the co-founders of the ministry.

“God, I don’t have time for this.”

But I couldn’t force my eyes from the screen as the joy contained in the devotions poured into my broken heart.  They spoke of goals, prodigals and God’s will.

I opened a new message directed to Cindy and typed something very simple, “Thank you for your encouraging words.  I will be sharing this with my friends.”

A few hours later, I received this back: Wow Scott, Thank you so much. The ministry is to spread the word of God through encouragement and hope. Occasionally, it’s nice to have someone else verify that we’re doing the right things. Thank you so much. How would you like to join us on our He Said/She Said radio show tonight at 7 EST and tell our listeners how the devotions have impacted you? It would be a great start to the New Year. It’s a real invitation to join Eddie and me on our He Said/She Said radio show. It’s just a phone call for you. Will you join us? Cindy Sproles

My mind swam.  “Wow!  I can’t believe what I’m reading.  But I don’t have time for this, its New Years!  But what if this is what you want, God?  Are you showing me a way to talk about my book?  Is it actually better than what I think?  But what if this brings more embarrassment than good?  You are going to have to tap my shoulder again, because for now, I’m going to pretend like I never received this.”

I closed my computer.  For two hours I helped in the kitchen and played games with the kids, but my mind kept returning to the email.  I found myself again sitting in front of my computer crafting a response to accept the invitation.

I talked for 30-minutes with Eddie and Cindy on their program and later after the show, God talked to them about me.  Today my book still sits on my computer desktop.  I look at it every now and then to remind me that I still have work to do.  But God’s timing is perfect and for some strange reason, He didn’t want my book to be published yet.  God’s plan was for me to host a radio show… me, a guy with no experience.

That was two years ago and I’ve been at the helm of Christian Devotions Speak UP ever since.  Psalms 20 says:

May the LORD answer you when you are in distress;    may the name of the God of Jacob protect you. May he send you help from the sanctuary    and grant you support from Zion. May he remember all your sacrifices    and accept your burnt offerings. May he give you the desire of your heart    and make all your plans succeed. May we shout for joy over your victory and lift up our banners in the name of our God.

Remember that God is control.  Submit to His will and walk through the door He opens.  Keep your eyes peeled, for the door might not be the one you desire, but the one He desires for you.

Scott McCausey

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on January 23, 2012, in 30 Days of Faith, Christian Living and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on 30 Days of Faith: Day 22.

Comments are closed.

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

