A Bad Review–This One Hurts


I usually don’t draw attention to negative reviews unless they are unwarranted and silly like the “Christian propaganda” reviews or the “I got duped into buying a Christian book” reviews.

This is for a couple reasons. One, honestly, it’s just a bad idea. Why would I shine the spotlight on someone’s disappointment with my work? And two, I don’t like to dwell on bad reviews. Sure they sting temporarily, but I’ve grown pretty thick skin and can easily brush the negative away.

But sometimes it just hurts.

I share this review with you for no other reason than to give you a glimpse into the heart of a writer. Most negative reviews I read, I frown, and I move on. Oh well. Not life-altering stuff. But every now and then I’ll get one that stabs at my heart and sticks with me. I can’t seem to shake it.

This was one of them. It showed up on Amazon and it has been haunting me since I read it.

I don’t know what kind of copyright laws Amazon has so you can go to the site and read the review here. (It’ll open in a new window).

It pains me that I was the one chance this guy gave Christian fiction and he was so disheartened and disappointed he vowed to read no more. Ugh.

I applaud this reader for giving it a try. I’m sorry he spent his hard-earned money and in the end was not satisfied with the product. Please, don’t post any negative comments on his review. He was honest and respectful and I appreciate that. I’m just sorry the story never really reached him.

One of the worst things about these kind of reviews is that the author never gets a chance to talk to the reader. I wish I could sit down with this gentleman and discuss the issues he had with the story. I’d like to ask him not to let me be the sole representative for Christian fiction. Try it again; there’s some really good stuff out there that doesn’t have supernatural elements, stuff I know he would enjoy.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on April 27, 2012, in Book Reviews, Christian Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 38 Comments.

  1. Mike, that reviewer’s post lost all merit when they mentioned these three things:

    (1) “…which made it read like a Dean Koontz novel, whom I love.”

    Response: I’m quite certain that Dean Koontz (as well as many others) have written about miraculous–even outlandish events–in their stories. If Dean Koontz can write about it, then so can Mike Dellosso.

    (2) “…as if I were reading a fantasy novel.”

    Response: The very fact that the back of “Frantic” is labeled with FICTION/Christian/Suspense proves that said reader/reviewer did “in fact” read a work of Fantasy. To be on the safe side, I checked my dictionary for fiction and fantasy, and both are described as imaginary. So whether or not a work of fiction has allegorical truths or faith-based truths matters naught (zero, zilch, nothing) –fiction is still a work of fantasy (unless otherwise noted). An author is only trying to enlighten and entertain their readers. They are not doing anything malicious (unless they’re a malicious individual).

    (3) “…but you can’t heal the dead!”

    Response: Then I myself must now be living as a fictional character, because I died when I was a baby. Nevertheless, I was also resurrected in front of 3 doctors, 1 nurse, about 40 people or so, and one unsaved grandfather who fell on his knees and promised God lifetime servitude if only I could live. Well, my grandfather passed away eleven years ago, fulfilling his lifelong vow. And fictional me just wanted to say that, yes, the reviewer is correct, only Jesus can heal and resurrect, but He (Jesus) doesn’t have to be in the flesh and/or present to do so. So what I’m trying to say is this…

    But Jesus beheld them, and said unto them, with men this is impossible; but with God all things are possible.
    Matthew 19:26 (KJV)

    One last thing the reviewer said: let’s make it (4) on the list…

    (4) “I don’t consider myself a Christian, but I do believe in God.”

    Response: Thou believest that there is one God; thou doest well: the devils also believe, and tremble.
    James 2:19 (KJV)

    And that’s just it, Mike, pure and simple, whether said reviewer realizes it or not–the devil is behind this “hurting review” and wants to make you think you’ve turned someone away from God by means of your dramaturgical decisions. Well, I’m gonna “Scream” (no pun intended… or maybe so) what all the youngsters are saying these days (and I’m gonna do it with a smile), “Epic Fail!” 🙂

    Like

  1. Pingback: My Take On . . . Reader Reviews (with some feistiness) | MIKE DELLOSSO

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

