A Confession . . . and Helping of Crow


Rook eating from water

(Photo credit: foxypar4)

Okay, major confession time. I see a huge plate of crow just waiting for me. It’s an acquired taste, I’m told, and by the end of this post I’ll have had my share and be picking it from my teeth.

I’ve always said I wasn’t into the whole e-book reader thing. Yes, technology moved ahead as relentlessly as shadows move with the sun. And yes, the e-book movement was only going to gain steam. But I didn’t have to like it. I’d alway–yes, I said ALWAYS–prefer the feel of a real book to that of a piece of plastic. I’d never–yes, I said NEVER–give up on real paper and ink books. ALWAYS. NEVER.

Please pass the crow . . . and could you hand me the hot sauce?

This past Valentine’s Day my wife got me a Kindle touch. I thanked her and was genuinely intrigued and thought it’d be nice to have around, maybe I’d read some books on it, but that was about it. It would never–yes, NEVER again–replace my love for the real book, the feel of pages, the smell of ink on paper.

Yes, I’d like another helping of crow, thank you.

I don’t quite know what happened. The more I used the Kindle the more I liked it. And the more I liked it the more I got used to reading from it, to its feel, its weight, the ease of downloading books, the abundance of free books, the storage capacity. The ability to take a break from reading and play mahjong.

Okay, I can hardly speak now my mouth is so full of crow.

Here it is: IlikemyKindlebetterthanrealbooks.

There, I said it. It’s the truth, too. In fact, I find it difficult to read a real book, the kind with pages and ink and a spine for goodness sake.

Please, don’t throw rocks, the crow is enough, believe me. Even with hot sauce it’s enough.

Question: So how about you? Which do you prefer, e-book or the real deal?

(Please visit my other blog too: www.michaelkingbooks.wordpress.com).

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on July 17, 2012, in Life in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. I’m picking a little crow meat out of my teeth too, Mike. Pass the toothpicks?

    Like

  2. I don’t own an e-reader, but I have tried the Kindle. I’ve also read short stories on my Mac. I prefer the printed page: turning them, flipping back a few to re-read, placing the bookmark in the middle; feeling the upraised letters on the cover, stamping my name on the inside; and other physical things like that. But I’m glad that there are people who enjoy e-readers. That gives writers more options and opportunities.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

