Making My Way Back


Twilight in the Wilderness, (1860), Cleveland ...

Twilight in the Wilderness, (1860), (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve been gone for a while. Admittedly, I’ve been lost, wandering in the wilderness of indecision.

This was due to a number of factors converging and culminating in a perfect storm of  fatigue, burnout, and apathy. I’d had enough and needed a break from writing, and I had no idea how long that break would last. To be honest, even just a few weeks ago I was perfectly okay with the idea of never writing and publishing another book in my life.

And then I went to the Writer’s Advance Boot Camp and something changed. I was refreshed, refocused, revived. I was reminded why I write and over night my vision became clear. (I highly recommend this conference for 2014).

I write because I’ve been called to. I truly believe that. And I can’t abandon my calling.

And now I’m making my way back. I’m not ready to dive in yet but that day is on the horizon and near. I have some story ideas; my passion is returning. Slowly, I’m rebuilding and gaining momentum. But this time around I want to do it better. I want to have a plan, a true vision, and want to be focused on what’s important, on things that really matter, on things that will last for eternity.

This is why I do what I do, and this is why I must come back from this trek into the wilderness. I need to because it’s part of who I am, part of who I’m meant to be.

More on this return and rebuilding will come in the near future. I have some exciting things planned, and I hope you’ll join me.

After all, we have work to do, eternal work.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on February 20, 2013, in Writing craft, Writing Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Glad to hear the rest was beneficial, Mike! When God puts a calling on our lives, it’s impossible to ignore, but even Jesus needed a break and went into the desert to refresh His spirit. I just took six weeks off after completing my first book in four months–call it going from brain-dead to wanting to pick up the quill. Again.

    Like

  2. You definitely have your passion and spark back, reading this is the MIke Dellosso of old, the one I loved reading from when I discovered your books and you!! My spirit leaps for joy that He has been faithful to you again and you have been obedient to the gift and talent He has given you.

    You have encouraged in your writing and books and now after coming through this valley you are an encouragement again.

    Welcome back, Mike,

    Like

  3. I am so glad to see you are back! Just attended the Platform Conference by Michael Hyatt and God really filled me with a renewed passion to write! I am anxious to see what God will do through your writing now. I agree that it is a painful but refreshing time when we wander in the wilderness! Welcome back!

    Like

  4. Welcome back, Mike. You’ve been missed but I can understand the burnout well. What’s one thing you would do differently looking back? Trying to keep the spark without losing my self.

    Like

    • One thing I’d do differently? Pace myself. Not take on too much at one time. I was eager and over-zealous and just lost control of the situation and my time. Also, allow myself breaks. I’d move from one book to the next without any break and it was just too much.

      Like

  5. Glad you feel refreshed! Burnout is a hard thing to handle sometimes, whether a writer, nurse, mom, or whatever! Can’t wait to see what is on the horizon for you and your family!

    Like

  6. Mike,
    I have never been more humbled and touched as I was by this post. You have confirmed we are walking within the will of God with Writers ADVANCE! Boot Camp. The goal is to remind us, in this drag em’ down world, we are made with specific gifts and purposes. I am honored to have had you serve with us on the “front lines” and more honored that Boot Camp made a difference in your purpose as a writer. Thank you so much.
    http://www.writersadvancebootcamp.com

    Like

  7. When the Spirit moves, work on that manuscript we discussed. Can’t promise you’ll get rich but I can promise it’ll be a “Blessed Seller.” – EJ

    Like

  8. We learn things in the valleys. Your writing will be better than ever! 🙂

    Like

  9. It’s good to see you again, Mike. Blessings on your current and future work. I like Eddie’s comment above – speaking of a “Blessed Seller”!

    Like

  10. Excited to see your passion and true calling being renewed. Continuing to pray for you.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

