Madman in a Box


Matt Smith as the Eleventh Doctor

Matt Smith as the Eleventh Doctor (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Okay, so my family is hooked on Dr. Who. My kids found it first on Amazon Prime and said we had to watch it. Now, I was never a fan of Dr. Who back in the 70s. Just never got it, never got into it. But this new version with Matt Smith as The Doctor. Wow. I think I finish every episode exclaiming, “This is the greatest show ever made!”

(For those of you interested, you can get back episodes on Netflix or Amazon Prime and probably other places).

In one episode, “The God Complex,” The Doctor needs to convince his sidekick, Amy, that he’s really not the hero she thinks he is and she shouldn’t put such faith in him. Just because he travels through time in a British police call box doesn’t make him anything special. At one point he makes the comment, “I really am just a madman in a box” and the viewer knows he’s speaking just as much to himself as he is to Amy.

Now, I watch shows like this for entertainment. I enjoy the plotlines, the acting, the suspense and intrigue. I usually don’t expect to get anything of real value out of them, but every now and then I’m pleasantly surprised. This was one of those times.

I really am just a madman in a box. Words for all of us. We’re not as strong as we think we are; we’re not as important as we think we are; we are not as useful as we think we are; and we’re definitely not as in control as we think we are. We’re just madmen in boxes. Limited by our own humanity, corrupted by our own selfish desires. Pretty depressing, huh?

But it’s in the realizing of the truth that we find freedom from that box.

For the child of God, He throws open the box. With God, we are stronger than we think we can be; we are of eternal value and called to do eternity’s work. And though we’re still not in control, we can be okay with that because we serve the One who controls all things.

We don’t have to be madmen in boxes. Freedom is there for the choosing.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on February 28, 2013, in Christian Living, Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Welcome to the Whovian universe! My daughter got me hooked back in 2008 and we’ve shared an obsession since then. My son and his wife finally discovered the Doctor last spring. Now, the entire family is hooked. We had a Doctor Who party on Christmas night while watching the Christmas special. My son was the Lodger, I was the fourth Doctor, my daughter the eleventh (don’t ask) and her best friend Sarah, was River Song. My wife just stares in confusion. My daughter in law is graduating with her PHD this April and we are having a huge Doctor Who party in honor of her becoming a doctor. I can’t wait. I’m dressing up as the second doctor. My wife has agreed to wear a piece of celery in honor of the fifth doctor. (Don’t worry if much of this doesn’t make sense — it’s timey wimey stuff — just jump in the Netflix Tardis and watch some old episodes and whatever you do — DON’T BLINK!!!!)

    Like

  2. Well put, Mike. I also was hooked by Dr. Who, despite my initial negative attitude toward the premise. It’s a good, entertaining show that is family friendly (a rarity these days).

    However, I’d never thought of it as a comparison to our relationship with God. Thanks for pointing it out. You should think about writing for a living:-)

    Like

  3. Jill Potts Jones

    I’m not a big fan of Dr. Who, but my husband and daughter love it. They have watched all the episodes on Netflix. They have some very interesting conversations some of which are very deep for a 6 year old.

    Like

  4. Hi buddy! My boys have got 6 complete seasons on DVD. Dr. Who fanatics! 😉

    Like

  5. Thank you. My nephew tweets about this show often and I was confused, thinking he was into some show from the way back. Now I’m intrigued enough to check it out…and maybe I won’t feel so old and out of it. 🙂

    Like

  6. Have you ever read Speculative Faith’s articles about the Doctor? E. Stephen Burnett and Kaci Hill have written a few: http://www.speculativefaith.com/tag/doctor-who/page/2/

    I’ve also written some review of Doctor Who episodes, focusing on thematic elements like this, at Life is Story: http://www.lifeisstory.com/category/who-reviews/

    It’s an excellent show and I’m completely addicted 🙂

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

