The Greatest Birthday Gift Ever!


English: Word cloud of the translations of &qu...

Word cloud of the translations of “birthday”. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today is my birthday and my anniversary. I’m 41 and Jen and I have been married for 16 years.

I’m not one to put a lot of emphasis on birthdays. Really, for me it’s just another day. It’s a special day, don’t get me wrong. I took off work and we’ll do something special as a family. But it’s special more because it’s our anniversary than because it’s my birthday.

Before, During, and After Cancer, a Photo Journey16 years ago I received the greatest birthday gift anyone could ask for: a wonderful woman as my wife. The woman God wanted for me. Like He brought Eve to Adam, God brought Jen to me. This was part of His great plan.

Every birthday I do a little reflection on my life thus far. And every year I come to the same conclusion: I’d be as dumb as a rock and blind as an earthworm if I didn’t see God’s fingerprints all over my life.

To sum it up in three words . . . I’ve been blessed.

Raised by wonderful parents; a full-time job I enjoy; survived cancer; overcame stuttering; published author; best friend for a wife; four beautiful daughters. Saved by God’s grace and promised eternal life in paradise. None of it deserved. All of it a free gift. A blessing.

For me, today is not a celebration of how many years I’ve been on this earth and how many years Jen and I have kept our promise to each other. It’s a celebration of God’s goodness, His faithfulness, His patience and love and kindness. He is the focus of the day!

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on June 7, 2013, in Life in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Raul Alvarez

    Happy Birthday Mike and Happy Anniversary too!

    Like

  2. Congrats and Happy Birthday. Sounds like you take nothing for granted. It’s so easy to do.

    Like

  3. Well said. You are indeed very blessed. Happy Birthday, Happy Anniversary, and Congratulations on your many accomplishments!

    Like

  4. This is the SWEETEST reminder of God’s faithfulness!! Thanks for sharing and Happy belated Birthday!!

    Like

  5. Happy Birthday and Happy Anniversary! What an encouragement to hear such contentment with marriage and life!! Thanks for sharing!!

    Like

  6. Linda Dindzans

    Happy Anniversary and Happy Birthday! I believe such an attitude of gratitude reaps more blessings! God knows when He blesses you, you will bless others!

    Like

  7. Linda Turner

    God is good. Thanks for the reminder. Congrats to you and your wife. May God continue to bless you and us through you.

    Like

  8. Cathy Groover

    All the people said :”Amen!” hope you share many, many more happy years together! God bless

    Like

  9. thejourneyisthelife

    Beautiful!

    Like

  10. HAPPY BIRTHDAY AND HAPPY ANNIVERSARY. THANK YOU FOR SHARING.

    Like

  11. Love your humble heart, Mike and how you honour Jen. Congratulations. God is good.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

