Drowning in Social Media . . . HELP!


Social Media Outposts

Social Media Outposts (Photo credit: the tartanpodcast)

It’s no surprise that social media is all the rage. For authors, it’s expected that we’ll be engaged in different types of social media, interacting with readers, sharing ourselves, passing along information, and generally spending a lot of time at the keyboard NOT working on our books.

Myself, I have several social media outlets I frequent: this blog, Facebook (two pages), and Twitter.

And, honestly, there are times when I just get tired of it. There are days when I don’t have anything interesting or pithy to say. Days when I don’t feel like sharing anything. Days when I sit and stare at that question on Facebook, “What’s on your mind?” and I say “Absolutely nothing. Nothing is on my mind. Is that okay?”

Don’t get me wrong. I like social media. I think it’s interesting. I think it’s a great way to connect with readers en masse, something authors of the past rarely had an opportunity to do.

I’ve just been thinking that I need to reboot. I need to focus my efforts, concentrate on one or two outlets, and let the other ones go.

So here’s my question for you . . . which outlet do you frequent most? Blogs, Twitter, or Facebook? If I had to focus on one to get the most bang for my buch which one do you think should I go with?

I have my own ideas about which one I’d LIKE to focus on but that may not be the most popular one.

HERE’S A BONUS: If you leave a comment you’ll be entered in a contest to win a copy of one of my short stories (Mirror Image or The Last Hunt) or one of my short non-fiction books (Writing Time! or Writing unBlock!) Yes, I’m bribing you. Unashamedly, too. I need your opinion!

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on June 17, 2013, in Writing Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 48 Comments.

  1. Cathy Groover

    I don’t think I even know how to use Twitter, don’t care to learn. I like your blogs, but we can also read them on facebook. I use facebook a lot. And I have all the books you mentioned,so let someone else have a chance at winning them.

    Like

  2. I prefer you stayed with the blog and Facebook

    Like

  3. I’ve often wondered when these people write their stuff. I’d rather be progressing on a WIP than read most of the posts that are out there. I use Facebook and follow links to blogs I like. Never used and don’t intend to do Twitter. A well-known “authority” on blogging blogs every day, and while I was interested at first I hardly ever read him any more. I wonder if any of it is worth the time and effort. Everyone seems to be promoting their own stuff, which is understandable, but I’m not sure about the reciprocity.

    Like

  4. No need to enter me in the contest either, Mike, as I have the books mentioned. In fact, I’m reading “The Last Hunt” little by little as of now.

    Anyway, I too, am beginning to feel a bit of your pain, trying to decide which outlet to use, and which one is most effective. I really like the new blog / Website I’ve been setting up, as it allows me to stand out from the endless feeds on Facebook…but there’re pros and cons with everything I suppose. Facebook seems nearly impossible to ditch for now, especially if one wants to reach a large audience effectively. Twitter seems great for quick updates…but Facebook can do quick updates, too…so it’s difficult to say which is better.

    Back in 2003, when I’d gone the PA route–like you– (with their seven-year contract) I’d designed my own Website from scratch, using HTML that I’d taken the time to learn (I’ve forgotten most of it now). After the PA heartbreak, I pretty much gave up, eventually went back to college to finish my AA (something I’d always wanted to do), then went with the flow of life and whatever it had in store.

    Up until recently (after deciding to give it another stab), the thing that plagued me the most was trying to acquire a .com extension. Maybe in another reality my name could’ve been Tim Dellosso, and TimDelloso.com would’ve just been waiting for me. Alas, not so…I had to take drastic, seemingly pretentious measures to avoid sharing Google search space with a never-ending list of mugshots. I took Kevin Smith’s (from Comic Book Men) Twitter route. I figured that if “ThatKevinSmith was good enough for him, then “THAT” T. W. Johnson is good enough for me. At least I stand out, and am now Google neighbors with T. W. Johnson the fine artist.

    Like

    • Tim, I did the exact same thing regarding designing my first ever website myself. It wasn’t too bad, either. I think you’re right, though, that Facebook is just too useful to ignore. You can reach a lot of people with one post and direct traffic to other areas. It has a lot of benefits.

      Like

  5. TImely question, Mike. I’m finishing up a journal article about the use of e-mail in caring for those serving overseas. With the prevalence of social media options, many mistakes are being made by using social media when e-mail would (sometimes) be the wiser option. But when?

    Personally, I went kicking and screaming into the FB world a number of years ago. I don’t have Twitter (yet) and would likely go kicking and screaming there as well. I process FB rapidly, so I don’t count it as much of a distraction as others might.

    Like

    • Ed, I’m with you on processing FB quickly. I don’t spend a lot of time scrolling through the pages of others. I check what I need or want to check then move on. Makes me wonder how others view my page(s) and how to get them to visit them more and spend more time there. Food for thought.

      Like

  6. Hi Mike,
    I’ve been struggling with the drowning phase a lot lately and decided to take the summer off from my personal blog which (GASP!) may become a permanent break. I’m currently running a contest to name my Journal. I like the idea of writing in a journal verses writing a blog every week. The difference for me is that I feel I have to impart knowledge in a blog and I’ve done as much of that as I can over the past four years. So I will keep my blog open to anyone who wants to go through it, but I think I’ll have more fun with a Journal. If I want to write one line in it verses a whole page I feel I can do that without guilt. 🙂 There are so many wonderful writing and reader blogs out there I just don’t believe that I have that much to offer that is better or different. I also need to focus on my writing and family life. So say a prayer this works. I recently joined a group blog of history writers over at the Christian Fiction Historical Society (http://christianfictionhistoricalsociety.blogspot.com/
    and I blog the 29th of each month, that way I can keep active with others and not worry so much about the personal blog but still bring attention to what I’m doing but not feel overwhelmed. And I must admit I’m enjoying Pinterest but it’s a dangerous place as I can put in a lot of time there. I like Twitter more than all the rest. Haven’t figured out Hootsuite yet. Have you considered developing a new group blog, Mike with like minded authors? Just a thought. I love what you do and enjoy your blog posts. It will be fun to see what you decide to do long term.
    Blessings,
    Jill

    Like

  7. I agree, Mike. It’s a challenge. I hope you continue your blog posts as I think you’ve got a good formula going with short relevant posts. Don’t feel you need to post everyday, just 1-2 per week would suffice. You’re doing a good job with FB. I’d also encourage you to prioritise TDS on FB.

    The counsel suggested at the ACFW Conference last year was excel at one platform and let that be your focus. I think your audience will gravitate to that platform if the content continues to be compelling.

    I personally prefer Twitter.

    It would be interesting to see the summary results of all these comments, Mike.

    Like

  8. I use Facebook the most but I always read your blog when I see that you have a new entry. I really do enjoy it. I do not even have a twitter account. Twitter seems silly to me.

    Like

  9. I like to connect to an author’s Facebook page, but also their blog. I go to the blog to read someone’s lengthier musings about his life, or writing career tips. But I am on Facebook every day, often for a couple of hours altogether, so I like having posts there to read to update me when the blog has a new entry, or with info about an upcoming book, or update on the WIP. I appreciate when authors interact with fans on their Facebook page as well — allowing questions, or asking us questions.

    Like

  10. I just use Facebook because it’s the easiest way for me to stay in touch with friends and topics which interest me. However, I spend far more time reading books and writing reviews than I do on social media! I would love a copy of one of your books! 🙂

    Like

  11. Hi again, Mike. I was wondering how many celebrities or “famous” people actually reply to a blog or face book question they post and you take the time to answer them! Paula Deen doesn’t, Michael W Smith doesn’t, Glenn Beck does not reply, I don’t know if Kyle Idleman does or not. You are a blessing in that you talk to us, and you let us get to know you. You value our opinions, you share how your days are going and you pray for us and ask for our prayers. I think we have a good online relationship. I don’t think you need to post something daily, as you have precious little time in the early morning. I don’t think my brain would even be awake that early! I do look forward to seeing your posts and blogs, though. God bless you and thank you for “keeping on keeping on”, a saying from my “younger years.”

    Like

  12. Natasha Shortencarrier

    I have Facebook. I also like Pinterest but I understand that’s not the same really. I find it trivia when people constantly update their statuses and profile photos on FB so I think Twitter would annoy me. I don’t need to know what everyone had for lunch!

    Like

  13. It seems like FB is the most popular choice here but I think a blog is more constructive. Bit of a techno geek here so I have all my RSS feeds setup etc… I honestly seem to get more info from your blog. Guess a blog is more for the people who are “really interested” whereas FB is better to reach the masses? Just my 2c. Regardless, will follow you wherever you decided to concentrate on 🙂

    Like

  14. I’m with you. Some days I just get tired of my own stale wit.

    Facebook and Twitter

    Like

  15. Oops. Blasted WordPress. Why must I log in?

    Jessica Thomas
    http://www.provisionbooks.com

    Like

  16. Carol Bostian

    I use Twitter & Facebook, but I use Facebook the most because it is easier to navigate & my grandkids are there.

    Like

  17. facebook the most, blogs second, twitter is a distant third

    Like

  18. I do not use Twitter, I tried it a few times a few years ago and didn’t understand it and was not interested. I am on fb many times a day, but then again, I have no life.

    Like

  19. Heavens. It’s good to have a mix, not be tied to one social network. Facebook is limited to the number of people who see you, though the branching out with the hashtags may be promising. Twitter is effective if you know how to use the hashtags well and do it. Like someone mentioned earlier, Hootsuite is a valuable tool, allowing you to use Twitter, FaceCrack and other social media simultaneously, while scheduling posts and freeing up your time. Instagram and Pinterest are great tools, too. And StumbleUpon.

    Shoot me an email and we’ll chat. There’s so much involved in doing this well, being effective. HOW to use the different media. Yes, it’s time consuming. There are ways to pare down the time suck, like Hootsuite. And better ways to use the media.

    Like

  1. Pingback: Never Ask a Question in an Empty (Social Media) Room | Soshable | Social Media Blog

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

