Finding My Purpose in 2014


I usually don’t get caught up in the whole new year thing. I don’t make resolutions, don’t think I get a clean slate or anything like that, and I don’t make promises I’m not sure I can keep. To me, each day is just another day in another year. Yes, I’m a pooper like that.

But this year is going to be different. Recently, I’ve been reading a collection of works by A.W. Tozer called “The Purpose of Man” and it’s really got me thinking and re-evaluating my life. In recent months I’ve wrestled with the question of why I’m here, what my purpose is. I’ve committed myself to writing then all but threw in the towel and given up on writing. I’ve looked into furthering my education then abandoned that idea. I’ve been back and forth, to and fro, wandering here and there looking for answers.

And then this collection of writings comes along and suddenly things are getting a lot clearer.

To find my purpose I have to go back to Genesis 1. God made the heavens and the earth; we know that part. He made the sun and stars, water and land, plants and animals and it was all good. God was pleased. But something was missing. There wasn’t anything there that resembled the maker. So God made man in His image and likeness. God made man to be a reflection of His glory. Man, the darling of creation, was made to worship God and fellowship with Him.

That was it. That was man’s purpose. God would meet with Adam and Even in the coolness of the day and walk with them and talk with them. He would fellowship with them and they would worship him and in them he saw Himself reflected.

But then sin entered the picture and man suffered spiritual amnesia. Man forgot what his purpose was. And ever since we’ve been trying to fill that hole with other stuff: work, education, family, religion, sports.

But our purpose hasn’t changed. Our purpose for being here is to worship God and fellowship with Him. To reflect His glory.

Yes, we have duties and responsibilities. Adam had them (rule over the animals, tend the garden, be fruitful and multiply) and we have them (be salt and light, spread the gospel, do good, love one another). But our purpose, the reason we’re here, is different and simple.

So I’m declaring 2014 my “Year of Purpose.” I want to focus on the reason I’m here. I want to focus on worshiping God and fellowshiping with him. I want to make everything I do an act of worship and keep that fellowship unbroken. I want to worry less about how everything will work out, how our family will be provided for, how many copies my books will sell, how many speaking gigs I’ll get, how I’ll perform at work . . . and give the core of my attention to my primary purpose, trusting that if I do that, the details of life will fall into place.

 

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on January 6, 2014, in Christian Living, Life in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Deborah Patterson Moss

    Great post, Mike! Thanks for posting this.

    Like

  2. Mike, this is so good. Loved the part, “Man, the darling of creation.”.

    Like

  3. grahamgarrisonwords

    Well said, Mike. A mentor of mine shared this with me (and it may be a quote from someone else) “If you are asking ‘What is God’s will for my life’ you are using three more words than you ought.” So, what is God’s will? We are created to be in fellowship with Him, to seek and express and exalt His glory, and we can do that in so many different ways, including creatively (in writing). But with the knowledge that we cannot DO anything for Him, just that He invites us to participate in his work and kingdom.

    Like

  4. Great blog, and what I needed to read! I worry about finances a lot, getting out of debt, saving, staying out of debt … And this is a great reminder for me, one that is always needed, just to get back to the basics.
    The sentence “and give the core of my attention to my primary purpose, trusting that if I do that, the details of life will fall into place.” — That’s it! An excellent reminder, all the times I find when I stop worrying about things and how much is left in the account, it falls into place.

    Will definitely be sharing this with family! I enjoy reading your blog, there’s always something interesting and encouraging on here! 🙂

    Like

  5. I love this Mike, feel it is a message for all of us!

    Like

  6. This really is great Mike. Thank you so much for posting it. I have often struggled with wondering what on earth my purpose is. I have felt totally useless many times in my life. This post points out the simplicity of what our purpose is. It is not a big mystery! What an awesome realization! Thank you for the reminder!

    Like

  7. Wonderful Mike, great revelation. Be praying for you & the girls that you can continue to fellowship with the Lord. I’ve been particularly drawn to reflecting on Mary and Martha. We’re all inclined to be Martha’s but it’s Mary who experiences the greater joy through simply adoring the King.

    Your season of reflection has borne much fruit, Mike. Long may it continue.

    Like

  8. Victoria Dorshorn

    Mike,

    Somehow I wasn’t getting my comment to post, so thought I’d reply to this email.

    Great to hear from you again. And amen to your blog post! Our purpose is to love and worship our lovely Lord. He wants to work in us, to grow us up for that heavenly wedding. Isn’t that amazing? And how sweet that He, the Creator/Redeemer, gifts some of us (you included) to create stories to communicate His love to a hurting world. He has given us the ministry of reconciliation–2 Cor. 5. Oh, praise His name forever! Selah.

    In Christ, Vicki Dorshorn (from clinic at GPCWC)

    ________________________________

    Like

  9. You are Awesome Mike and your words are very inspiring!! You have a Beautiful gift!!

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

