Purpose Lost


From The Purpose of Man (Regal, 2009), a collection of writings by A.W. Tozer edited by James L. Snyder . . . Jen got it for me for Christmas and it has captivated me.

Here’s a little excerpt worth pondering:

What was the real tragedy of that dreadful cosmic rupture forever affecting mankind? The real tragedy in the Garden of Eden was that Adam and Eve lost their purpose. They forgot who they were. They did not know where they were; they did not understand where they came from or what they were here for. They forgot the purpose of their existence. Trying their best to shake off this moral fog, they could not; for no matter what they did, it would not shake. Therefore, hand in hand, they made their way out into the world, not knowing where they were going. Humanity still wanders in this moral and spiritual wilderness.

That spiritual amnesia Adam and Eve suffered still persists today. Man has lost his way, his purpose, and is still trying fruitlessly to fill that gaping hole. But we were created for a specific purpose: to reflect God’s glory through worship and fellowship.

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on January 15, 2014, in Christian Living, Life in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. So true Mike. There are still days in my life as a believer when I feel as though purpose evades me. Then I realize, my inner being is lost without direction from my heavenly Father. I’m drawn to prayer and fellowship with His presence where once again I recognize who I belong to as well as my purpose. Relationship with Him.

    Like

  2. That is so true! I too love Tozer’s work

    Like

  1. Pingback: God’s Promise to Reveal Himself to us: AW Tozer | Heart Knowledge with Na

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

