A Cancer Story: A Moment of Clarity


Cancer does a lot of things to you. It’s a formidable foe that deserves respect. From the beginning my oncologist told us we needed to respect this disease and not treat it lightly. It’s truly the stuff of life and death.

And that has a profound effect on you. On the way you see life, the way you see yourself, your accomplishments, your goals, your family, your purpose for being here.

I remember early on being so overwhelmed with all the information we were being fed that I just wanted to get away from it all. I wanted to seclude myself away, deal with this ordeal, then get back to living when it was all said and done.

But God is more powerful than cancer and He, too, does a lot of things to you. During those occasional moments of clarity and, yes, maybe even sanity I heard God’s voice through all the clutter of appointments and tests and results. And what he told me really made me think.

During one of those reprieves from the stress and fear and clouded outlook I had such a certainty about the whole thing that I told my wife something I would never forget, a truth that I clung to throughout the duration of the battle (and still cling to).

I said that two things would be accomplished through this trial we were about to enter.

  • One, we would surely emerge on the other side better and stronger people.
  • And two, when this was all said and done we would have gone through an experience we could share with others and possibly be an encouragement to folks going through the same or similar trials.

Knowing the frame of mind I was in at the time, I don’t know where that came from. Well, actually, I do know where it came from and it wasn’t from me . . . it had to be of God.

So what was your moment of clarity in the midst of the storm?

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on March 10, 2014, in Cancer, Life in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thanks for sharing, Mike. Your statements about what would be accomplished through this battle are true about any battle we faced as Christians. We should emerged from any battle stronger in our faith and more dependent on God. And, through our trials we gain experiences by which we can help others through similar trials. If our goal is to glorify God in all that we do, no trial is every for naught. As Paul told us, trials produce perseverance, which in turns produces characters and hope.

    Like

  2. These two points are exactly what get me through any trial that I face. Knowing that, whether we will ever be aware of how, God will use every situation for our good makes it easier to remain strong and to persevere. That we might inspire others and lead them to the Lord through our witness is an added blessing!

    Like

  3. It is amazing. He doesn’t waste the pain. Thanks, Mike.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

