What My Oncologist Taught Me That Has Nothing To Do With Cancer


Last Friday I saw my oncologist for my six year follow-up and my final visit with him. I graduated.

My oncologist is not only a brilliant doctor but a wonderful man as well. I admire him in many ways. He’s a sixty-something Irish grandfather with a thick salt and pepper beard, wool jacket, and argyle socks. Over the past six years he’s spent many hours discussing with me not only cancer but life and living.

This time, we talked about the journey I’d taken and how far I’d come. He answered some questions I had, we mused about what the future may hold, then he hugged me and gave me very fatherly kiss on the cheek and told me to take care of myself.

I won’t be seeing him again, at least that’s part of the plan we discussed.

Here’s what I learned from my doctor: With every interaction we have with others we make a choice either to invest in their life or not to. And as I can see it, when we choose to invest three things happen.

One, they are blessed. We show them that they are important, that they have value, that their life matters. We inject into their life a spark of hope that can kindle a fire that may burn for a very long time.

Two, we are blessed. We give a little of ourselves away and that’s a good thing. Addition by subtraction. The more we give the more we’re filled.

Three, we start a chain reaction of giving and sharing and caring and loving. We may be the genesis of the reaction or another link in the chain but either way we produce something wonderful, something that as a whole is much more powerful and influential than the sum of any of its parts.

So what do you choose? Will you pass by others and barely make contact or will you choose to invest and make a difference in another life?

About mikedellosso

Mike Dellosso is an author of wide-eyed suspense. He writes stories that not only entertain but enlighten.

Posted on March 11, 2014, in Cancer, Life in General and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Kelly Weiderhold

    i LOVE this! Those things do happen when we invest in someone and show them love! I always try to remember the invisible thread that connects us all. I’m happy that you are doing so well!!! Congratulations Graduate!!!

    Like

  2. Great reminder of how we affect each other in ways we may never know

    Like

  3. Great message! A friend of mine is going through a rough time, and last night we had a long phone conversation. It’s nice to know that she feels she can trust me to listen without judging, and I feel blessed just to be able to be there for her.

    Like

Silver Lining Sharings

True tales of inspiration

The Accidental Missionary

A regular guy tryin' to figure it out

ajmumblin

All the things I say in my mind, just not out loud (yet)

Spooks, Spectres, and Spilled Milk // RAENA J ROOD

One mother's venture into terror and toddlers . . .

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Whispers in the Wind

Musings of a writer's life

MIKE DELLOSSO

wide-eyed fiction

JoJo's Corner

Read. Write. Love. Repeat.

Ambling & Rambling

Scattered thoughts and general musings

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Lynn Rush

New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author

Bibliophile's Retreat

Bookish Musings, Banter & More

www.KevenNewsome.com

The intersection of faith and fiction.

Life Worth Serving

Life is messy...Yet Worth Serving

A Little Bit of Everything

Slices of life from a mom, army wife, craft maker, writer, etc.

